Macclesfield, Christ Church, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Macclesfield Christ Church, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Macclesfield, Christ Church, Cheshire
Christ Church, Macclesfield Cheshire.jpg
Christ Church, Macclesfield Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield; Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1773
Bishop's Transcripts: 1779
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MACCLESFIELD, is a town, a township, four chapelries, and a district, in Cheshire. It dates from ancient times.

There are Independents,Wesleyan's, and New Connexion Methodist chapels; as well as United Free Methodist, Baptist, Quakers', Primitive Methodist, Independent Methodist and Unitarian chapels. As well as a Roman Catholic church, and a W Lady-chapel; it contains three chapels, for respectively Churchmen, and Dissenters.

The four chapelries of Macclesfield are St. Michael, St. Paul, St. Peter, and Christ church.The parts of the town beyond Macclesfield township are in the chapelries of Sutton-St. George and Hurdsfield; and all the six chapelries are in Prestbury parish.[1]

Great King Street. Founded 1775 as a chapel to Macclesfield, St Michael's, becoming the parish church for part of Macclesfield in 1888; closed in 1983.

In the second half of the 18th century the parish church of Macclesfield. In 1772 David Simpson was appointed curate to the church but was deprived of his curacy because of his evangelical beliefs and preaching. Simpson had been invited to Macclesfield by Charles Roe. Roe built Christ Church for David Simpson, who became its first vicar.

David Simpson was a close friend of John Wesley, the founder of Methodism. Unusually for an Anglican church.

Following the closure of the church in 1983, the graveyard was reclaimed as an area of open space. This involved the exhumation of at least some of the corpses buried in the graveyard.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241256.

Church records

Macclesfield, Christ Church chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

CPR = Cheshire Parish Register Project - free[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Macclesfield, Christ Church Chapelry (1773) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
CPR 1775-1871
Undefined
1776-1871
FS PR's 1775-1812
  NONE
1909-1934
  NONE
1776-1919
  NONE
FS BT'S 1779-1836
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
1779-1843
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Cheshire Record Office Reference P 84
Macclesfield Christ Church Parish
Date 16th century - 20th century
Registers: C 1775-1983, Marriages 1889-1982, Burials 1776-1961. Records other than registers 1599-1983
http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-p84&cid=0

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers of Christ Church, Macclesfield, 1773-1961 Cheshire Record Office: P 84/1, P 84/2/1-2, P 84/3349/1/1-3, P 84/2/1-4, P 84/3/1-7, P 84/3349/3/1-6, P 84/3349/4/1-2.

Parish Registers: Christ Church, Macclesfield Film
Baptisms and burials, 1773-1812.
2186841 Item 5
Baptisms, 1813-1943. Marriages, 1889-Feb. 1909.
2186842
Marriages, Jan. 1909-1948. Burials, 1813-July 1835.
2186843
Burials, July 1835-1857, 1830-1843 (duplicates).
2186844
Burials, Feb. 1849-1961. Copies of burial registers, 1857-1866.
2186845
Burials, Mar. 1866-1893.
2186908 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Not Known

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Macclesfield on GENUKI

Macclesfield Christ Church on GENUKI

References

  1. John Marius Wilson Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1871-72). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013
  2. 'CPR Project Progress (As on 17 January 2014),' Cheshire Parish Register Project, accessed 1 February 2014.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 213–216
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 268, ISBN 0 300 09588

'David Simpson (1745–1799)', Oxford Dictionary of National Biography, Oxford University Press

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 19:54.
  • This page has been accessed 3,168 times.