Macclesfield, St Paul, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Macclesfield, St Paul

Guide to Macclesfield St Paul, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St Pauls Church - Macclesfield - Cheshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

MACCLESFIELD, is a market-town, parochial chapelry, and a newly-enfranchised borough, having separate jurisdiction, it is locally in the parish of Prestbury, and hundred of Macclesfield, and the head of a union, in the Northern division of the county of Chester. The town is pleasantly situated near the southern extremity of the forest.

The parochial chapelry consists of the nine townships of Hurdsfield,Kettleshulme, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Pott-Shrigley, Rainow, Sutton, Wildboar-Clough, and Wincle. The parochial chapel, dedicated to St. Michael, and is dependent on the mother church at Prestbury.

Christchurch, was erected in 1775, at the expense of Charles Roe.

In the year 1844, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners endowed two church districts St. Paul's and St. Peter's, Macclesfield, and the districts then became ecclesiastical parishes. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Socinians, and Roman Catholics.[1]

St. Paul's was built 1843-4 as part of a government scheme to build churches in the new urban areas. They are known as Commissioners' Churches or Waterloo Churches. There was a grant of £1,000 to the total cost of £5,400. The earliest Commissioners' churches were fully funded but this led to some extravagance and excess. The rules were changed so that the local community had to raise part of the money and the grant would not cover a tower. St. Paul's is built of stone from Kerridge.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241256.

Church records

Macclesfield, St Paul chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Macclesfield, St Paul Chapelry (1844) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1844-1906
1844-1854


FS PR's 1844-1909
  NONE
1844-1914
  NONE
1844-1866
  NONE
FS BT'S 1874-1897
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers, 1844-1920 An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records.
Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Macclesfield, St. Paul's created from Macclesfield St Michael Cheshire Record Office reference: P225/1-3.

Parish Register St. Paul's Church, Macclesfield FHL Film
Baptisms 1844-1920.  Burials 1844-1866.  Marriages 1844-1854. BRITISH 1656449 Items 3-6
Marriages 1854-1914. BRITISH 1656450 Items 1-3

Bishop's transcripts for St. Paul's Church, Macclesfield, 1874-1897 Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 139

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Bishop's Transcript St. Paul's Church, Macclesfield FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1874-1876, 1888. Baptisms, 1895-1897 BRITISH 1647520 Item 2

Non-Conformist Churches

  • Society of Friends
  • Independent
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Socinians
  • Roman Catholics

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Macclesfield

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,118 times.