Macclesfield, St PeterEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Macclesfield St Peter, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Macclesfield, St Peter
Church of St Peter Macclesfield.jpg
Church of St Peter Macclesfield
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield; Wirrall
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: 1874
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MACCLESFIELD, is a market-town, parochial chapelry, and newly-enfranchised borough, having a separate jurisdiction, it is locally in the parish of Prestbury, and hundred of Macclesfield, and the head of a union, in the Northern division of the county of Chester. The town is pleasantly situated near the southern extremity of the forest.

The parochial chapelry consists of the nine townships ofHurdsfield, Kettleshulme,Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Pott-Shrigley, Rainow, Sutton, Wildboar-Clough, and Wincle. The parochial chapel, dedicated to St. Michael, and is dependent on the mother church at Prestbury.

Christchurch, was erected in 1775, at the expense of Charles Roe.

St. George's church, in Sutton, was erected as a dissenters' place of worship, the same township contains a church dedicated to St. James. In the year 1844, the Ecclesiastical Commissioners endowed two church districts St. Paul's and St. Peter's, Macclesfield, and the districts then became ecclesiastical parishes. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends,Independents, Primitive Methodists, Socinians, and Roman Catholics.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241256.

Church records

Macclesfield, St Peter chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Macclesfield, St Peter chapelry (1846) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1846-1909
  NONE
1849-1934
  NONE
1849-1912
  NONE
FS BT'S 1874-1876
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

 Here is a list of parish registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for St. Peter's Church, Macclesfield, 1846-1947 Cheshire Record Office call no.: P187/1/1-3, P187/2/1-5, P187/3/1-2.

Parish Registers: St. Peter's Church, Macclesfield Film
Baptisms, 1846-1919. Marriages, 1849-1890.
2106063 Items 3 - 7
Marriages, 1890-1937. Burials, 1849-1912, 1929, 1941, 1947.
2106064 Items 1 - 6

Bishop's transcripts for St. Peter's Church, Macclesfield, 1874-1876 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 139

Bishops Transcripts: St. Peter's Church, Macclesfield Film
Baptisms, 1875, 1874, 1876.
1647520 Item 3
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Society of Friends
  • Independents
  • Primitive Methodists
  • Socinians
  • Roman Catholics

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Macclesfield (1837-1998)

Poor Law Unions

  • Macclesfield

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place

Websites

Macclesfield St Peter on GENUKI

Macclesfield on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 November 2014, at 18:47.
  • This page has been accessed 1,532 times.