Macclesfield Forest with Wildboarclough, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes

Guide to Macclesfield Forest with Wildboarclough, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Macclesfield Forest with Wildboarclough, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Macclesfield
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Macclesfield PLU
Registration District Macclesfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1675
Bishop's Transcripts: 1812
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MACCLESFIELD, is a market-town, parochial chapelry, and newly-enfranchised borough, having a separate jurisdiction, it is locally in the parish of Prestbury, and hundred of Macclesfield, and the head of a union, in the Northern division of the county of Chester. The town is pleasantly situated near the southern extremity of the forest.

The parochial chapelry consists of the nine townships of Hurdsfield, Kettleshulme, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Pott-Shrigley, Rainow, Sutton, Wildboar-Clough, and Wincle. The parochial chapel is, dedicated to St. Michael, and is dependent on the mother church at Prestbury.

There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Socinians, and Roman Catholics. [1]


WILDBOARCLOUGH, a township in Prestbury parish, Cheshire; 6½ miles SE of Macclesfield.[2]

St Stephen's Macclesfield Forest is an ancient chapelry in the Ancient parish of Prestbury. It included Tytherington, Upton, Wildboarclough, Kettleshulme, and Lyme Handley.

St Stephen's Church is also  known locally as Forest Chapel.

Wildboarclough (pronounced Will'berclough) was a township and chapelry in Prestbury Parish, Macclesfield Hundred and Wildboarclough St Saviour, Cheshire  was founded as a parish in 1873 from within St Stephen's parish. 

Macclesfield Forest now forms part of Rainow parish, but still proudly retains its own local chapel. Forest Chapel (Church of St Stephen) in Macclesfield Forest was built in 1673.

In Wildboarclough, the church of St Saviours is at the centre of one of the parishes in a benefice which also includes Wincle, Bosley and North Rode.

There is also a Methodist chapel on the boundary of the parish at Gradbach (built in 1849).

Macclesfield Forest and Wildboarclough Forest Chapel.jpg

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241240.

The 1611 Survey of the Manor and Forest of Macclesfield will provide a census substitute for the inhabitants. This website lists all those freeholders, copyholders and tenants living in the area at the time of the Survey

Church Records

Macclesfield Forest with Wildborclough St Stephen chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Macclesfield Forest with Wildboarclough St Stephen Chapelry (1675) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP (£)



1732-1977
1732-1777
NBI



1732-1977

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Prestbury, St. Peter (C of E). The ancient parish church for Wildboarclough.
Macclesfield Forest, St. Stephen (C of E). An ancient chapelry in Prestbury parish.

Wildboarclough, St. Saviour. Founded 1873 as a chapel to Macclesfield Forest, becoming a parish church in 1906. Registers of Baptisms from 1873, Marriages from 1912, and Burials from 1910 are held at the church.
Parish registers date from 1737 earlier chapelry records for Macclesfield Forest with Wildboarclough are included:

Some entries read Macclesfield Forest with Wildboarclough. Macclesfield Forest and Wildboarclough are in the parish of Prestbury.

Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Parish registers for Macclesfield Forest Chapelry, 1666-1971 Cheshire Record Office Call no.: P88/1-4, 2356/1.

Parish Register: Macclesfield Forest Chapelry FHL film
Baptisms and burials 1666-1675, 1731-1746, 1751, 1759-1812, (some severely damaged) Item 5 Baptisms 1813-1926. Marriages 1891-1968. Burials 1813-1971. BRITISH 1656451 Items 2-7

Bishop's transcripts for Macclesfield Forest Chapelry, 1812-1837 Cheshire Record Office: EDB 140

Bishops Transcripts: Macclesfield Forest Chapelry Film
Baptisms, 1812-1826, burials, 1813-1825, 1829-1837, baptisms, 1829-1837.
1647520 Item 4
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  •  Macclesfield (1837–98)
  •  Cheshire East (post 1998) 

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Macclesfield Forest with Wildboarclough on GENUKI

Macclesfield Forest on GENUKI

Macclesfield on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England 1848 adapted 26 March 2013
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date Accessed: 26 March 2013
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:37.
  • This page has been accessed 3,183 times.