Macclesfield St Michael, CheshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Macclesfield St Michael, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and websites.
MACCLESFIELD, is a market-town, parochial chapelry, and newly-enfranchised borough, having separate jurisdiction, it is locally in the parish of Prestbury, and hundred of Macclesfield, and the head of a union, in the N. division of the county of Chester. The town is pleasantly situated near the southern extremity of the forest.
The parochial chapelry consists of the nine townships of Hurdsfield, Kettleshulme, Macclesfield, Macclesfield Forest, Pott-Shrigley, Rainow, Sutton, Wildboar-Clough, and Wincle. The parochial chapel, dedicated to St. Michael, and is dependent on the mother church at Prestbury. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Socinians, and Roman Catholics.
Situated in the ancient Domesday Hundred of Hamestan, the Domesday Book lists Macclesfield as "Maclesfeld", whilst in 1183 it was referred to as "Makeslesfeld". It is thought that Macclesfield got its name from "Michael's field" - referring to St. Michael, as in St. Michael's church.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241256. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Macclesfield St Michael chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers|
|FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts|
|JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)|
|Macclesfield St Michael Chapelry (1572) Online Records|
|FS PR's|| 1572-1909
|FS BT'S|| 1608-1892
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The ancient parish which included Macclesfield was Prestbury (see history of the parish)
Chorley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|CHORLEY PARISH (1538) Online Records|
Macclesfield, St. Edward the Confessor (Roman Catholic), London Road. Built in 1939.
Macclesfield, Baptist Chapel, Calemine Street, rebuilt in 1873 in St. George Street.
Macclesfield, Friends' Meeting House (Quaker), Mill Street.See Macclesfield Society of Friends, Cheshire
Macclesfield, Methodist (Mount Tabor) Chapel, Tabor Street. Built in 1861, closed in 1966. See Macclesfield Mount Tabor Methodist Chapel, Cheshire
Macclesfield United Reformed Church, Cheshire includes Townley Street Chapel, Roe Street Chapel and Park Green Congregational Church
Macclesfield, Unitarian Chapel, Parsonage Street. Built in 1806, closed in 1887.
Macclesfield, Spiritualist Free Chapel, Cumberland Street. Built in 1879.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:
- Macclesfield (1837-1998)
- Cheshire East (post 1998)
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 15 November 2013, at 16:19.
- This page has been accessed 1,535 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More