Mackinac County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Mackinac County
Guide to Mackinac County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Mackinac County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | October 26, 1818 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | St. Ignace |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Mackinac County Courthouse 100 S Marley St. St. Ignace, MI 49781 Phone: (906) 643-7300 Mackinac County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1873,
marriage records from 1867, divorce and court records from 1808. [1]
History
Mackinac (pronounced 'Mackinaw') County is situated in southeastern portion upper peninsula of Michigan. The name is from Indians in the area. The Straits of Mackinac are also named for this area and are between the two peninsulas that make up Michigan.
- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mackinac_County,_Michigan
- http://www.mackinaccounty.net/County-Info-Links/mackinac-county-facts.html
Books online
- Mackinac and Lake Stories - http://books.google.com/books?id=lZcpAQAAIAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=UVOaUbeXJY6E9QTmsIGYDg&ved=0CDwQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Mackinac, formerly Michilimackinac - http://books.google.com/books?id=rI1uAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=UVOaUbeXJY6E9QTmsIGYDg&ved=0CEIQ6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Annals of Fort Mackinac - http://books.google.com/books?id=N9c8AAAAYAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=UVOaUbeXJY6E9QTmsIGYDg&ved=0CEgQ6AEwAg#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Early Mackinac: "the Fairy Island" : a Sketch - http://books.google.com/books?id=ep4-AAAAYAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=UVOaUbeXJY6E9QTmsIGYDg&ved=0CE4Q6AEwAw#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Names of Places of Interest on Mackinac Island, Michigan - http://books.google.com/books?id=cefhAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=UVOaUbeXJY6E9QTmsIGYDg&ved=0CFQQ6AEwBA#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Nicolet day on Mackinac Island - http://books.google.com/books?id=EYnhAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=UVOaUbeXJY6E9QTmsIGYDg&ved=0CGcQ6AEwBw#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Island of Mackinac: giving a description of all the objects of interest... - http://books.google.com/books?id=6o1uAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=UVOaUbeXJY6E9QTmsIGYDg&ved=0CHQQ6AEwCQ#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Historic Mackinac: The Historical, Picturesque and Legendary ..., Volume 1 - http://books.google.com/books?id=NsrhAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=e1WaUc-4Grat4AP7u4HgBg&ved=0CDgQ6AEwADgK#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Historic Mackinac: The Historical, Picturesque and Legendary ..., Volume 2 - http://books.google.com/books?id=72x5AAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=editions:I6XsdzrT0YYC&hl=en&sa=X&ei=3lWaUZ72EOXl4APQ5YH4Bw&ved=0CEEQ6AEwAw#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Lewis Cass Day on Mackinac Island, August 28, 1915 - http://books.google.com/books?id=M33hAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=e1WaUc-4Grat4AP7u4HgBg&ved=0CE4Q6AEwBDgK#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Early Mackinac: an historical and descriptive sketch - http://books.google.com/books?id=ewsUAAAAYAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=e1WaUc-4Grat4AP7u4HgBg&ved=0CG4Q6AEwCTgK#v=onepage&q&f=false
- HISTORY OF CHEBONGAN and Mackinac Counties - http://books.google.com/books?id=enzS9YGxsJIC&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=_1aaUZrMGo_88QTUoID4Dg&ved=0CEQQ6AEwAjgU#v=onepage&q&f=false
- The Old Mission Church of Mackinac Island: An Historical Discourse - http://books.google.com/books?id=mFoRHVx6WQAC&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=_1aaUZrMGo_88QTUoID4Dg&ved=0CEkQ6AEwAzgU#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Two Missionary Priests at Mackinac: A Lecture Delivered at the Village... - http://books.google.com/books?id=wF1AAAAAYAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinac&hl=en&sa=X&ei=_1aaUZrMGo_88QTUoID4Dg&ved=0CE8Q6AEwBDgU#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Father Marquette at Mackinaw and Chicago: A Paper, Read Before the Chicago ... - http://books.google.com/books?id=ZvYuAAAAYAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinaw&hl=en&sa=X&ei=FliaUa_yNZW34AO_o4GQAQ&ved=0CDoQ6AEwAA#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Old Mackinaw, Or, the Fortress of the Lakes and Its Surroundings - http://books.google.com/books?id=m0l5AAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinaw&hl=en&sa=X&ei=FliaUa_yNZW34AO_o4GQAQ&ved=0CEAQ6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Mackinaw in History: A Critique on Dr. John R. Bailey's Brochure Entitled ... - http://books.google.com/books?id=VL0BAAAAMAAJ&printsec=frontcover&dq=intitle:mackinaw&hl=en&sa=X&ei=FliaUa_yNZW34AO_o4GQAQ&ved=0CFEQ6AEwBA#v=onepage&q&f=false
- Index to Volumes I-XX of the Wisconsin Historical Collections - http://books.google.com/books?id=N4wUAAAAYAAJ&pg=PA407&dq=mackinac+intitle:collections+intitle:of+intitle:wisconsin&hl=en&sa=X&ei=_1qaUcqkDZXD4AOenYDQDQ&ved=0CDoQ6AEwADgK#v=onepage&q=mackinac%20intitle%3Acollections%20intitle%3Aof%20intitle%3Awisconsin&f=false
Parent County
1818--Mackinac County was created 26 October 1818 from Wayne County. It was formerly Michilimackinac County, until name was changed 26 January 1837. County seat: St. Ignace [2]
Boundary Changes
- See COUNTY EVOLUTION IN MICHIGAN, 1790-1897 by Richard W. Welch for the development of the counties in the state. This will help you to determine place of residence of your ancestors and under whose civil jurisdiction they resided. It is also useful for when you start to read the census records.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/mi_places/webplaces.aspx?county=Mackinac
- http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/mi_places/webtownship.aspx?county=Mackinac
- http://books.google.com/books?id=paYfAQAAMAAJ&pg=PA375&lpg=PA375&dq=mackinac+county+historical+groups&source=bl&ots=rKXKfqbIKW&sig=OUtoTEAbscAaxfIyrEcPAx3Md1A&hl=en&sa=X&ei=4U6aUYuTCoHHrgHCjYGACw&ved=0CDIQ6AEwATgU#v=onepage&q=mackinac%20county%20historical%20groups&f=false
Ft. Mackinac
St. Ignace
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
- St. Anne Cemetery, Mackinac Island BillionGraves
- http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=csr&CScn=&CScntry=4&CSst=24&CScnty=1275
- http://www.epodunk.com/cgi-bin/localList.php?local=21948&locTGroup=Cemeteries&direction=down&sec=0&qty=24
- http://geonames.usgs.gov/pls/gnispublic/f?p=gnispq:2:6297174896050701::NO::P1_CLASS,P1_COUNTY,P1_STATE:Cemetery,Mackinac,Michigan
Census
1870
Church
- Collections - State Historical Society of Wisconsin, Volume 18, p. 469 - http://books.google.com/books?id=cjEUAAAAYAAJ&pg=PR6&dq=mackinac+intitle:collections+intitle:of+intitle:wisconsin&hl=en&sa=X&ei=KFqaUdWXH4f48wTO14GAAg&ved=0CEMQ6AEwAQ#v=onepage&q=mackinac%20intitle%3Acollections%20intitle%3Aof%20intitle%3Awisconsin&f=false
Court
Families
- http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~wioconto/Lakesfamilies.htm
- http://www.genealogy.com/users/w/e/l/Terry-Weller/FILE/0014text.txt
ANCE / ANSE
BELANGERS
BOURASSA
COWN
FAGNANT
HAMMOND
LAJOICE / LAJOIE
LALONDE
MARTIN
T(H)ERRIAN
The Therrian family moved from Drummond Island to the Mackinac area indicated by the baptismal records of their children. Peter Isaac Therrian was French Canadian, Angelique was Indian. Josephine "Josie" Therrian is their great grand daughter..
VALLIERE
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Spanish American War
Newspapers
Probate
Queries: Mailing Lists & Message Boards
- http://boards.rootsweb.com/localities.northam.usa.states.michigan.counties.mackinac/mb.ashx
- http://lists.rootsweb.ancestry.com/index/usa/MI/mackinac.html#MIMACKIN
- https://www.facebook.com/groups/203833693057556/
- http://genforum.genealogy.com/mi/mackinac/
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
- Births - http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/mfhn_births/countysearch.aspx?County=Mackinac
- Marriages - http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/mackinac/marriages/Default.aspx
- Deaths - http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/mfhn_deaths/countysearch.aspx?County=Mackinac
Societies and Libraries
Luce-Mackinac County Genealogical Society
Library of Michigan holdings
- "Mackinac" - http://35.8.7.98/search~S37/X?searchtype=X&searchscope=37&searcharg=mackinac&submit.x=30&submit.y=15
- "Mackinaw" - http://35.8.7.98/search~S37/X?searchtype=X&searchscope=37&searcharg=mackinaw&submit.x=28&submit.y=13
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. Has maps, name indexes, marriages, military history, biographies, history, church records, or other historical information for this county. http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/mimack/
- http://www.mifamilyhistory.org/counties/mackinac.aspx
- http://genealogytrails.com/mich/mackinac/
- http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~mimacki2/
- http://www.cyndislist.com/us/mi/counties/mackinac/
- http://www.linkpendium.com/genealogy/USA/MI/Mackinac/
- http://www.mygenealogist.com/michigan-genealogy/mackinac-county.htm
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Mackinac County, Michigan page 347, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 20 May 2013, at 17:45.
- This page has been accessed 1,557 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
