Macomb County, MichiganEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Michigan
Macomb County
Guide to Macomb County Michigan genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Macomb County, Michigan | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Michigan in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 15, 1818 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Mount Clemens |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Macomb County Courthouse 40 N Main St. Mt. Clemens, MI 48043 Phone: (810) 469-5120 Macomb County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1867,
marriage records from 1819, divorce records from 1847and military records.
Probate Court has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records[1]
History
Parent County
1818--Macomb County was created 15 January 1818 from Wayne County. County seat: Mount Clemens [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Macomb County, Michigan (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Macomb County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Macomb County.
- - 1st Regiment, Michigan Cavalry, Company L
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
- Michigan Birth Registrations, 1867-1902 -- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of child, birthdate and place, if still-born, illegitimate or twin, gender, race and record number.
- Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
- Michigan Death Registrations, 1867-1897-- Free name indexes and images at FamilySearch Record Search. Records include such information as name of deceased, date and place of death, gender, color, marital status, age in years, months and days, disease or apparent cause of death, birthplace, names and occupations of parents, and the date the record was made.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Macomb County, Michigan page 347, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 23:08.
- This page has been accessed 1,522 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
