Macon County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Macon County

Guide to Macon County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Macon County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Macon County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: January 19, 1829
County Seat Decatur
Courthouse
Macon County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Macon County Courthouse
253 East Wood Street
Decatur, Illinois 62523
217-424-1305
Macon County Website

Contents

Macon County Information

Macon County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Macon County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1829
1877
1830
1827
1831

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Macon County are kept, see the Macon County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Nathaniel Macon.JPG

The county is named after U.S. Senator Nathaniel Macon (1758-1837).[1]

Parent County

  • 1829--Macon County was created 19 January 1829 from Shelby County.
    County seat:  Decatur [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation. See the Illinois Cemeteries wiki page for more information.

Published Records


Online Gravestone Transcriptions

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Macon Co. IL USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks. 
  • Confederate soldiers buried in Macon County. Courtesty of Genealogy Trails.

Individual cemeteries


Cemetery Gazetteers

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
190044,003
191054,18623.1%
192065,17520.3%
193081,73125.4%
194084,6933.6%
195098,85316.7%
1960118,25719.6%
1970125,0105.7%
1980131,3755.1%
1990117,206−10.8%
2000114,706−2.1%
IL Counties 1900-1990

Church Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information as well as indictate family relationships. See Illinois Church Records for more ideas about how to use church records in your research. Many libraries (WorldCat) and the Family History Library hold abstracts of church records for Macon County. Learn more about how to search WorldCat and the FamilySearch Catalog.

Court Records

Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Macon County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.

Copies of Original Records

  • 1829-1904 Circuit Court Case Files including Criminal Files IRAD-UIS
  • 1830-1848 Circuit Court Record IRAD-UIS
  • 1831-1848 Court record, Vol. A-B FHL Film 985764
  • 1857-1871 Justice of the Peace Dockets IRAD-UIS
  • 1831-1866 Circuit Court Execution Files IRAD-UIS
  • 1869-1869 Circuit Court Dockets, Common Law IRAD-UIS
  • 1872-1934 County Court Record IRAD-UIS
  • 1878-1881 Circuit Court Cockets IRAD-UIS
  • 1883-1892 County Court Dockets IRAD-UIS
  • 1893-1910 County Court Judgment Record IRAD-UIS
  • 1893-1906 Insanity and Conservator's Record IRAD-UIS
  • 1893-1910 Insanity Dockets IRAD-UIS
  • 1895-1926 Insanity Record IRAD-UIS
  • 1899-1909 County Court Dockets, Criminal IRAD-UIS
  • 1900-1933 County Court Miscellaneous Record IRAD-UIS

Abstracts

Online Resources

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online, through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the University of Illinois at Springfield - search for Macon County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the UIS IRAD Wiki page.

Online Resources

  • BLM GLO Records. Search original land patents for Macon County from the Govenment Land Office (GLO) or Eastern States Office. Some searches include images of the original warrants. All search results include the patant details needed for requesting copies of the land entry files at the National Archives.  The GLO is the custodian of millions of land title documents. The General Land Office Automated Records Project is responsible for making these important documents available to the public.
  • Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales. The Illinois State Archives has an online index to the records of Public land sales held by the State Archives. The indexes are by purchasers name and by legal description. This is a statewide collection with nearly 550,000 land sales fro 54740 square miles.
  • Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
  • Sheldon, Theodore. Land registration in Illinois. Chicago: Callaghan Co., 1901. Digital book. Expains the laws regarding land and the land systems used in Illinois. Includes court cases involving land issues. In addition to being on Ancestry, this book is available online at no cost at Internet Archives and Google Books.


Copies of original records


Additional Resources

Additional resources for Macon County land and property may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Ilmacon.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Macon County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Macon County.

- 7th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company I.
- 8th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies A and B.
- 8th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and B.
- 21st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A.
- 41st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company A and E.
- 63rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 70th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- 115th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- 116th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, G, I, and K.
- 145th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- 150th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company I.
- 152nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company K.

Naturalization

Newspapers and Obituaries

Historic

Ancestry.com and NewspaperArchive.com have digitized dozens of historic Macon County newspapers. Cyndi's List provides a detailed list.

Current

The website of the Decatur Herald & Review provides free access to birth and death notices published in the newspaper since 1997.

Probate Records

Original probate records are usually held by the circuit court clerk. Probate records include wills, inventories, settlements, and guardianship records. Copies of probate records are held at IRAD. Explore how to search IRAD–UIS. The following copies are available at IRAD–UIS and in the FamilySearch Catalog:

In addition, IRAD maintains an online index to


Other abstracted probate records for Macon County can be explored through a subject search of the FamilySearch Catalog (Probate Records), FamilySearch Catalog(Probate indexes) and WorldCat.

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Macon County are kept, see the Macon County Courthouse page.

Family History Centers

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy.

The FHC center in Macon County is located in Decatur. Be sure to call and visit its wiki page for hours of service and other information.

Decatur Illinois Family History Center
3955Lourdes Drive
Decatur, Illinois
217-845-9396

You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site, if you live outside the area.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The University of Illinois at Springfield (UIS) houses the records for Macon County. The link will help you find and use the records. There address is:

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
LIB144
University of Illinois at Springfield Region
One University Plaza, MS BRK 140
Springfield, Illinois 62703-5407
217-206-6520

Public Libraries

Barclay Public Library
220 S. Main St.
P.O. Box 349
Warrensburg, Illinois 62573
Office 217-672-3621
217-672-8404

They have a wide variety of genealogy and local history resources. They are also digitizing their collection, which can be accessed online and in the library. Be sure to view the Genealogical section on their site.

Decatur Public Library
130 N. Franklin St.
Decatur, IL 62523
Phone:(217) 424-2900
Ext. 7
Shilling Local History Room with newspapers, obituary index, cemetery listings, local directories. Call ahead for times.

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Illinios Macon County, Decatur Public Library Collections (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maroa Public Library
305 E. Garfield Street
Maroa, IL 61756
Phone (217)794-5111
Prairie Post Online Obituary Index

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Illinois, Macon County, Decatur Public Library Collections (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Social Groups Online

Societies

Decatur Genealogical Society and Library
1255 W. South Side Drive
Decatur, Illinois
Phone:(217) 429-0135

Macon County History Museum and Prairie Village
5580 North Fork Road
Decatur, Illinois 62521
Phone:(217) 422-4919
Museum and Library for researching the Decatur and Macon County area.

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded since 1877 are kept by the Macon County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health. with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are kept by the County Clerk from 1829 to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

Copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Universtiy of Illinois–Springfield(UIS). Search Macon County records in the Local Governmental Records Holdings Database . For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD–UIS Wiki page.

Explore MaconCounty vital records found in the FamilySearch Catalog. Other libraries(at WorldCat) also hold copies of abstracted Macon County vital records. (How to explore WorldCat).


Birth

Marriage

Death

Macon County records are not included in th Pre–1916 Statewide Death Index at IRAD.

Divorce

Web Sites

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

Illinois, Macon County, Decatur Pubic Library Collections (FamilySearch Historical Records)

References

  1. "Nathaniel Macon", Wikipedia.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 196. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:25.
  • This page has been accessed 8,192 times.