Macon County, MissouriEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Missouri
Macon County
Guide to Macon County Missouri genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Macon County, Missouri | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Missouri in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 6, 1837 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Macon |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Macon County Courthouse 101 E Washington Street Macon, MO 63552-0096 Phone: 660.385.2913 Macon County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893;
County Recorder has marriage and land records;
Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records; Circuit Court
Division 2, has probate records[1]
History
The county is named after U.S. Senator Nathaniel Macon (1758-1837).[2]
Parent County
1837--Macon County was created 6 January 1837 from Randolph County.
County seat: Macon [3]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Macon County border changes at N2Genealogy.
Record Loss
Places/Localities
- The State Historical Society of Missouri has information on historical Missouri place names for all Missouri Counties.
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
- Family Maps of Macon County, Missouri (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- Map of Macon County townships (Histopolis)
- The University of Missouri Digital Library has digital copies of Missouri county plat books (ca. 1930) for all Missouri counties including Macon County. The city of St. Louis is not included in this collection.
Military
Newspapers
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has Moberly newspapers from the early 1900's that covered local news on residents from Macon County communities.
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Births
Marriages
- 1837-1883 - Macon County Marriage Books A thru D Index 1837-1883. Batch M515361 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1867-1882 - Macon County Marriage Books E and F Index 1867-1882. Batch M515362 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1881-1883 - Macon County Marriage Book 1 Index 1881-1883. Batch M515363 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1883-1885 - Macon County Marriage Book 2 Index 1883-1885. Batch M515364 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Deaths
- Missouri State Archives provides on-line access to Missouri Death Certificates more than 50 yrs old starting in 1910.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Macon County, Missouri. Page 402 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "Nathaniel Macon", Wikipedia.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
| This Missouri-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 April 2013, at 17:45.
- This page has been accessed 1,517 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
