Madeley, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Madeley, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Madeley, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wenlock
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Madeley PLU
Registration District Madeley
Records begin
Parish registers: 1645
Bishop's Transcripts: 1638
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wenlock
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MADELEY-MARKET (All Saints), a markettown and parish, and the head of a union, within the liberties of the borough of Wenlock, S. division of Shropshire, 4½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Shiffnall, 15 (S. E.) from Shrewsbury, and 148 (N. W.) from London. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Madeley, Shropshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[3][4][5][6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Madeley, Shropshire Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1638, 1678, 1691-1695, 1829-1833, 1837-1839, 1857-1858, 1861, 1864-1900
1837-1838

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1645-1839 1654-1675, 1695-1837, 1857-1858

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474591.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Madeley/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 26 June 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 February 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  6. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 24 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 19:13.
  • This page has been accessed 1,096 times.