Madeley, Staffordshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Madeley, Staffordshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Madeley, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Madeley, Staffordshire
Madeley All Saints Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Pirehill
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Newcastle under Lyme
Registration District Newcastle under Lyme
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trentham
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office


Parish History

MADELEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Newcastle-under-Lyme, N. division of the hundred of Pirehill and of the county of Stafford, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Newcastle.[1]

Madeley is an Ancient Parish in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Little Madeley, Onneley, Onnely, and Madeley with Little Madeley.


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See also Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Madeley All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1776-1876

FMP 1681-1876 1681-1876 1682-1901 1682-1901 1678-1901 1678-1901
FREG 1567-1812
FS 1567-1775

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1678-1978 Mar 1678-1969 Bur 1678-1964
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1628-1868 Mar 1682-1837 Bur 1682-1838

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474620.

Poor Law Unions

Newcastle under Lyme Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 02 November 2012.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 11 September 2013.
  3. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 23 July 2014.
  4. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 23 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 April 2015, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 3,090 times.