Madison County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Madison County

Guide to Madison County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Madison County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Madison County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 30, 1836
County Seat Huntsville
Courthouse
Address Madison County Courthouse
1 Main Street; PO Box 37;
Huntsville, AR 72740-0037
Phone: 501.738.6721

Contents

County Courthouse

Madison County Courthouse
1 Main Street; PO Box 37;
Huntsville, AR 72740-0037
Phone: 501.738.6721


County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1901[1]

Beginning years for Madison County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1896 1914* 1866 1843 1901
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1836--Madison County was created 30 September 1836 from Washington County. County seat: Huntsville [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Benton  • Carroll  • Crawford  • Franklin  • Johnson  • Newton  • Washington  •

Madison CountyBoone CountyNewton CountyCarroll CountyBenton CountyWashington CountyPope CountyCrawford CountyJohnson CountySebastian CountyLogan CountyFranklin CountySequoyah CountyAdair CountyCherokee CountyOttawa CountyDelaware CountyCraig CountyMayes CountyMcDonald CountyNewton CountyBarry CountyStone CountyTaney CountyChristian CountyARMadison1.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Biographies

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Genealogy

  • Biographies from The History of Madison County, Arkansas (1889) published by Goodspeed Publishing Company are available free on the My Genealogy Hound website.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Madison County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • Archaeologists have found evidence of human habitation in Madison County spanning the last 10,000 years.
  • 1700s - By the time of European exploration, Madison County was part of the Osage hunting grounds, although they lived further north.
  • 1827 - The earliest white settlers arrived and began to establish farms and towns. Settlers who migrated to the area from Huntsville in Madison County, Alabama, named both Huntsville and Madison County. However, the great majority of settlers came from Tennessee, traveling by flatboat and wagon.
  • 1836 September 30 - The state legislature established Madison County.
  • 1861-1865 - the area was hit hard by the bushwhackers who rode throughout the countryside, stealing and pillaging. They burned homes, stole food and possessions, and left most families with little to live on.
  • 1800s (late) - With the coming of the railroads, the timber industry flourished in Madison County.
  • 1930s - Madison County was particularly hard hit by the Depression.
  • 1900-2010 - The population of Madison County hit its high mark in 1900 with over 19800 residents. It had a steady decline and bottoming out at just over 9,000 in 1960. It now (2010) has about 15,700.

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Arkansas, Madison County on page 191.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Madison County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Madison County, Arkansas:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company K
- 16th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company I
- 17th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Griffith's) (Confederate), Company G
- 35th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company K

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1860-1969 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Chancery Court record index 1866-1890; Chancery Court records 1866-1890; Guardian bonds and letters 1860-1934; Letters of testamentary 1881-1969; Probate records 1867-1893; Wills 1905-1939.

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records 
Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Madison County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Madison County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Madison County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Madison County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Madison County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 69.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Arkansas, Adjutant General's Office, Report of the Adjutant General of Arkansas, for the period of the late rebellion, and to November 1, 1866, (Bethesda, Maryland: University Publications of America, c1990) FHL fiche 6082312
  5. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/0d/Igiarkansasem.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 July 2014, at 14:21.
  • This page has been accessed 8,540 times.