Madison County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Madison County, Florida ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


United States  Gotoarrow.png  Florida  Gotoarrow.png  Madison County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Madison County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Madison County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 26, 1827
County Seat Madison
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Madison County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Madison County Courthouse
PO Box 237
Madison, FL 32341
Phone: 850.973.1500

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, probate and court records from 1838
land records from 1831 and divorce records. [1]

History

Parent County

1827--Madison County was created 26 December 1827 from Jefferson County.
County seat: Madison [2] Named for James Madison, fourth President of the United States.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1876 and 1912 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Municipalities
  • Greenville
  • Lee
  • Madison

Neighboring Counties

Resources

African American

Biographies

Cemeteries

USGenWeb Tombstone Project

The USGenWeb Tombstone Project contains listings of gravestones donated by volunteers for the following cemeteries in Madison County.

  • Allen Family Cemetery. Cemetery index available on Madison Co. FLGenWeb.
  • Andrews Family Cemetery
  • Antioch Cemetery
  • Archtillery Missionary Baptist Cemetery
  • Aucilla Fire Tower Cemetery
  • Barclay Family Cemetery
  • Bethlehem Missionary Baptist Cemetery
  • Beulah Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Blue Springs Primitive Baptist Cemetery
  • Blue Springs Primitive Baptist Cemetery
  • Campbell Family Cemetery
  • Campbell Sink Cemeteries
  • Campbell's Church Cemetery
  • Cherry Lake Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Cherry Lake UMC Cemetery
  • Concord Missionary Baptist Cemetery
  • Coody Family Cemetery
  • Cooksey Family Cemetery
  • Corinth Church Cemetery
  • Croos-Road Missionary Baptist Cemetery
  • Drew Family Cemetery
  • Ebenezer UMC Cemetery
  • Edwards Family Cemetery
  • Evergreen Cemetery | Plot Map
  • Fellowship Primitive Baptist Cemetery
  • Friendship Cemetery
  • Hacker Gravesite
  • Hanson UMC Cemetery
  • Harby Family Cemetery
  • Harmony Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Hays Cemetery
  • Henderson Cemetery
  • Hensey Cemetery
  • Hickory Grove Cemetery
  • Hicks Cemetery
  • Hickstown Cemetery
  • Hopewell Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Hurst Family Cemetery
  • Jeslamb A.M.E. Church Cemetery
  • Lee Memorial Cemetery
  • Little Brown Church Cemetery
  • Leggitt Cemetery
  • Macedonia Missionary Baptist Cemetery
  • Midway Baptist Church Cemetery
  • Modern Day Holiness Church Cemetery (aka St. Lukes)
  • Mount Horeb Cemetery, Pinetta
  • Mount Nebo Missionary Baptist Cemetery
  • Mount Olive Cemetery
  • Mount Zion A.M.E. Church #2 Cemetery
  • Nazarene Church Cemetery
  • New Hopeful Missionary Baptist Cemetery
  • New Hopewell Cemetery
  • New Oakland Church Cemetery (aka San Pedro)
  • New Zion Missionary Baptist Cemetery
  • Norton Creek Cemetery
  • Oak Grove Cemetery
  • Oak Ridge Cemetery Plot Map
  • Old Oakland Cemetery
  • Old St. Matthews Church Cemetery
  • Old Walker Cemetery
  • Pine Grove Cemetery
  • Pine Grove Cemetery
  • Pineland Cemetery
  • Porter Family Cemetery
  • Radford-Denson Family Cemetery
  • Reaper Cemetery
  • Redding Family Cemetery
  • Redding-Hammock Cemetery
  • Rocky Springs UMC Cemetery
  • Rowe-Rutherford Cemetery (aka Norton Creek)
  • Saint Lukes Church Cemetery
  • Saint Matthews Church Cemetery
  • San Pedro Cemetery
  • Shackleford Gravesite
  • Shaw-Bowens Family Cemetery
  • Shiloh Southern Methodist Cemetery
  • Smith Cemetery
  • Stonewall Cemetery
  • Stroud Cemetery
  • Townsend-Duval Family Cemetery
  • Walker Cemetery
  • Washington Family Cemetery
  • Wigginsville Church Cemetery
  • Winquepin Pond Cemetery
Other Cemetery Links

Census

For tips on accessing Madison County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court

The Madison County Clerk of Courts covers both Circuit and County Court records, including Probate Court. They are also responsible for the county marriage and divorce records.

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Madison County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flmadison.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Madison County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Madison County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

The Madison County Clerk of Courts covers both Circuit and County Court records, including Probate Court. They are also responsible for the county marriage and divorce records.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Contact the Madison County Appraisors for land and tax information.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

The Madison County Clerk of Courts covers both Circuit and County Court records, including Probate Court. They are also responsible for the county marriage and divorce records. 

Birth and death records can be ordered from:
Office of Vital Statistics
1217 Pearl Street
P.O. Box 210
Jacksonville, FL 32231-0042
Telephone: 904-359-6900
Fax: 904-359-6931
Internet: Florida Office of Vital Statistics

Courtesy of Elmer's Genealogy Corner which is operated by Elmer C. Spear

Other Resources

Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Madison County, Florida Page 135 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/3f/Igifloridamz.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:42.
  • This page has been accessed 8,875 times.