Madison County, IllinoisEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Illinois
Madison County
Guide to Madison County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Madison County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Illinois | |
![]() Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | September 14, 1812 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Edwardsville |
| Courthouse | |
| Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives | |
| Address | Madison County Courthouse 157 North Main Street Edwardsville, Illinois 62025 (618) 692-6290 Madison County Website |
County Organization
Madison County's civil records start the following years:
| Beginning Dates for Madison County Records | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1858 |
1813 |
1877 |
1820 |
1802 |
1813 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Madison County are kept, see the Madison County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts
Madison County is named for James Madison, the fourth president of the United States.
Parent County
- 1812--Madison County was created 14 September 1812 from St. Clair County. County seat: Edwardsville [1]
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Madison County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
| |||||||||||||||||||
To see a list of places in Madison County, click on [Show], in the bar above. The preceding list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Records and Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
The Cemeteries of Madison County, Illinois are documented in sixteen volumes of cemetery and tombstone inscription books prepared by the Madison County Genealogical Society. All sixteen volumes are available on-line at the Illinois Digital Archive. The volumes are organized by township, and are fully text searchable.
The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs has burial records for Alton National Cemetery and other Veterans Affairs National Cemeteries around the country.
The Illinois Cemeteries page provides general explanations of the following additional online Madison County resources:
| Bibliography | Online Gravestone Transcriptions | Cemetery Gazetteers |
| FHLC | Find A Grave | national search | county list | ePodunk |
| WorldCat | USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project | |
| Illinois Cemeteries | ||
| ILGenWeb |
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1820 | 13,550 | ||
| 1830 | 6,221 | −54.1% | |
| 1840 | 14,433 | 132.0% | |
| 1850 | 20,441 | 41.6% | |
| 1860 | 31,251 | 52.9% | |
| 1870 | 44,131 | 41.2% | |
| 1880 | 50,126 | 13.6% | |
| 1890 | 51,535 | 2.8% | |
| 1900 | 64,694 | 25.5% | |
| 1910 | 89,847 | 38.9% | |
| 1920 | 106,895 | 19.0% | |
| 1930 | 143,830 | 34.6% | |
| 1940 | 149,349 | 3.8% | |
| 1950 | 182,307 | 22.1% | |
| 1960 | 224,689 | 23.2% | |
| 1970 | 250,934 | 11.7% | |
| 1980 | 247,691 | −1.3% | |
| 1990 | 249,238 | 0.6% | |
| 2000 | 258,941 | 3.9% | |
Elsie Wasser's transcriptions of the Illinois State Census for 1845, 1855, and 1865 for Madison County are available on the Illinois Digital Archive site as part of the Madison County Genealogical Resources collection.
1840 Pensioners
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C., 1841. FHL 973 X2pc 1840; FHL 2321; digital version at Google Books. [See Illinois, Madison County on page 187.]
Church Records
Copies of Original records
- 1817–1901 Canteen Creek Baptist Church FHL film 967478 Items 2–3
City Directories
- A transcription of The 1866 Madison County Directory (Genealogy trails) is available online. This directory is part of James T. Hair's Gazetteer of Madison County (Google Books). See p.161 for the County directory, p.205 for Alton, and p.239 for Upper Alton.
- The St. Louis County Library has Alton City Directories 1858 and 1889-1935 available in their Special collections Department of the Main Headquarters Branch.
Court Records
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Madison County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1813-1818 Illinois, Madison County court records, 1813-1818, and indenture records, 1805-1826 : register of slaves, indentured servants & free persons of colour, with individual indexes FHL Book 977.386 P2s, World Cat
- 1818-1821 Court Records of Madison County, Illinois, 1818-1821 FHL Book 977.386 P2j, World Cat
- 1825-1911 Madison County, Illinois circuit court in chancery records, 1825-1911 FHL Film 2194343 First of 10 films.
Ethnic Research
African American
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African-American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Madison County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
Abstracts
- A Gazetteer of Madison County, Containing Historical and Descriptive Sketches... (Google Books) published in 1866 by James T. Hair covers the geography and history of Madison County from the 1600's, and includes a directory of residents as of 1866. Also available on Ancestry ($).
Copies of Original Records
- 1814-1910 Index - IRAD-SIU
- 1814-1879 - IRAD-SIU
- 1814-1910 Deed Records FHL Film 505989 First of 92 films.
Online Resources
- Beginning 1820 Land Patent Search See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database.
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales Database
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)
- Madison County Federal Township Plats
Local Histories
- The Madison County Genealogical Society publication A Complete Surname Index to the History of Madison County, Illinois is available on-line at the Illinois Digital Archive as part of the Madison County Genealogical Resources collection.
- A fully-digitized copy of the original book, The History of Madison County, Illinois with Biographical Sketches of many Prominent Men and Pioneers, published in 1882 by W.R. Brink and Company, Edwardsville, Illinois, is available for free at Internet Archive and for a fee at the subscription sites Ancestry ($) and HeritageQuest Online ($)[2].
- Norton, William T. Centennial History of Madison County, Illinois, and Its People: 1812 to 1912. Chicago: Lewis Pub., 1912. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Maps of townships (Histopolis)
Military
Civil War
Civil War service men from Madison County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Madison County.
- - 1st Regiment, Illinois Cavalry
- - 2nd Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company D.
- - 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Companies, G, I, and K.
- - 9th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A and I.
- - 10th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Companies E and F.
- - 10th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company K.
- - 10th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and K.
- - 22nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company B.
- - 26th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- - 27th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D and F.
- - 59th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 97th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies G and I.
- - 117th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D, F, and G.
- - 133rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D.
- - 140th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company K.
- - 143rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies F and K.
- - 144th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, B, C, D, E, G, I, and K.
- - 149th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Company I.
- - 150th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (1 year, 1865), Companies G and H.
Naturalization
Newspapers and Obituaries
- Search the Illinois Newspaper Project (INP) database for a listing of historic newspapers available for Madison county.
- The Edwardsville Spectator (1819-1826) is available on-line at genealogybank.com ($) . Ancestry.com ($) has some issues of the Edwardsville Intelligencer from 1869-1977
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line for the Madison County cities of Alton, Edwardville, and Troy. Some libraries including Hayner Public Library provide free access to this database. It is often listed under the name Access Newspaper Archive.
Probate Records
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Madison County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
Abstracts
- 1813-1815 Records and Indentures FHL Book 977.386 P28j
Copies of Original Records
- 1813-1903 Probate Case Files FHL Films 2322675 item 1 First of 383 films.
- 1818-1981 Probate Records FHL Films 1310041 First of 31 films.
- 1813-1910 Probate Case Files - IRAD-SIU
- 1859-1966 Probate Inventory Record - IRAD-SIU
- 1821-1970 Probate Record - IRAD-SIU
- 1818-1963 Probate Will Record - IRAD-SIU
Online Resources
- Madison County Probate Case Files Index
- Madison County Probate Case Files Index, 1813-1910, courtesy: Illinois State Archives.
- Madison County Probate Case Files Index, 1813-1903, courtesy: Genealogy Trails.
- 1819-1929 An unspecified number of Madison County probate records are available in Illinois, Probate Records, 1819-1970.
Repositories
County Courthouse
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Madison County are kept, see the Madison County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
IRAD is a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories managed by the Illinois State Archives, housing the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois. Southern Illinois University houses the records for Madison County.
Public Libraries
Hayner Public Library located in Alton, Illinois has genealogical information including maps, city directories, marriage records and cemetery transcriptions in its Genealogy & Local History Library.
Social Groups Online
Societies
Madison County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 631
Edwardsville, Illinois 62025-0631
The Madison County Genealogical Society maintains a library at the: Edwardsville Public Library
112 S. Kansas
Edwardsville, Illinois 62025
Phone: (618) 692-7556
Taxation
Vital Records
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Madison County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Southern Illinois University (SIU) - search for Madison County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the SIU IRAD Wiki page.
Births
- 1846-1915 Index Birth certificates- IRAD (SIU)
- 1846-1900 Birth certificates- IRAD (SIU)
- ca. 1846-1916 Birth certificate index FHL Film 1306459
- 1846-1916 Birth reports FHL Film 1306460 First of 13 films.
There are a number of birth records on the ILGenWeb site.
Marriages
- 1813-1908 Index Marriage records- IRAD (SIU)
- 1813-1903 Marriage records- IRAD (SIU)
- 1790-1860 Illinois Marriages, 1790-1860 at Ancestry–($);Index, INCOMPLETE
- 1813-1908 Marriage index FHL Films 1306456-1306457
- 1813-1903 Marriage records FHL Films 1306457 First of 3 films.
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
Deaths
- 1878-1915 Index Death records- IRAD (SIU)
- 1878-1900 Death certificates- IRAD (SIU)
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1878-1915 Death index FHL Films 1306472-1306473
- Arranged by certificate number Death records FHL Film 1306473 First of 4 films.
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
There are a number of death records on the ILGenWeb site.
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- County, Illinois Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Genealogytrails
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 196. (FHL Collection Ref Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- ↑ Your local public library may offer free access from home to HeritageQuest Online. Go to your library's web page for more information.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 12 April 2013, at 19:30.
- This page has been accessed 5,017 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



