Madison County, MississippiEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Mississippi
Madison County
Guide to Madison County Mississippi genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents |
County Courthouse
Madison County Courthouse
PO Box 404
Canton, MS 39046
Phone: 601.859.1177
Clerk Chancery Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1828.[1]
History
Parent County
1828--Madison County was created 29 January 1828 from Yazoo County.
County seat: Canton [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Mississippi denominations, view the Mississippi Church Records wiki page.
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Madison County, Mississippi census records online, see: Mississippi Census.
- 1841 - 1841 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
- 1845 - 1845 State Census Returns, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Court
Land and Property Records
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Mississippi Land and Property for additional information about early Mississippi land ownership. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Madison County, Mississippi. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Mississippi Local Histories.
Maps
- Family Maps of Madison County, Mississippi (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
Military
- Civil War service men from Madison County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Madison County.
- - 10th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry
- Company I - Madison Rifles
- - 1st Regiment, Mississippi Light Artillery
- Company A - Ridley’s Battery, aka Jackson Light Artillery
- - 3rd Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company A - Kyle’s Company
- - 5th Regiment, Mississippi Cavalry
- Company F - Povall’s Company
- - 9th Regiment, Mississippi Infantry (New)
- Company H - Semmes Rifles
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Madison County, Mississippi newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Madison County, Mississippi Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Taxation
Mississippi tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years. For more information, see Mississippi Taxation.
- 1810-1895 - Territorial and County Tax Rolls, courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. Mississippi law did not require keeping birth or death records until 1912. Births and deaths are kept by the Mississippi Bureau of Vital Statistics. Marriage records are kept by the county. See Mississippi Vital Records for more information on getting Mississippi records.
Marriage
- 1830-1912 - Madison County Marriage Books F-Z Index 1830-1912 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Madison County, Mississippi page 381, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/b/be/Igimississippij.pdf.
| This Mississippi-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 01:47.
- This page has been accessed 1,685 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

