Madron, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Madron, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Madron, Cornwall
Madron Church.jpg contributor Tony Atkin.jpg
Madron Church.jpg contributor Tony Atkin
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1577
Bishop's Transcripts: 1597
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MADRON (St. Madern), a parish, in the union of Penzance, W. division of the hundred of Penwith and of the county of Cornwall. The Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans have places of worship. [1]


Madron is an Ancient Parish St Madron), (Cornish: Eglosvadern), with Morvah is situated in the Deanery of Penwith, and in the western division of the Hundred of Penwith.  Morvah, Cornwall was a chapelry of Madron.Other places in the parish include: Boswarthen, Heamoor, Little Bosullow, Polminnick, Tregavara, and Trezelah.
The church is dedicated to Madron (or Madrona) (in local dialect "Maddern"). The word Modron appears in Cornish and Welsh literature, Modron being the mother goddess, mother of Mabon (after whom the parish and village of  St Mabyn, Cornwall is named)

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Madron, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[5]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[6][7][8]
FREG = FreeREG - free[9]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[10]
GOOG = Google Books - free[11]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[12]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[13]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[14]
Madron, Cornwall Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI
1901-1906

BOYD
1577-1812

COPC 1700-1901
1674-1901
1577-1910
CPRI 1889-1904
1863-1904
1813-1904
FMP 1570-1875 1578-1837 1690-1837
FREG 1603-1728
1577-1812, 1870-1906
1577-1681
FS PRs 1577-1888 1577-1906 1577-1901
GOOG 1577-1676 1577-1676 1577-1676
IARC 1577-1676 1577-1676 1577-1676
IGI 1577-1875 1577-1895
PALL
1790-1812

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall County Record Office reference P 133/

The current images displayed are in error, some images for St Mary Penzance (P 179) St Paul Penzance (P180) and St John Penzance( P181) have been loaded in error and await correction by engineers.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish. 

The history, registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Madron.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241265.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Penzance Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Madron in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 21 November 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  5. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  6. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  10. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013. Described as 'Penzance Madron.'
  11. George Bown Millett, ed., The First Book of the Parish Registers of Madron, in the County of Cornwall (Penzance: Beare and Son, 1877). Digitised by Google Books - free.
  12. George Bown Millett, ed., The First Book of the Parish Registers of Madron, in the County of Cornwall (Penzance: Beare and Son, 1877). Digitised by Internet Archive - free.
  13. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  14. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:21.
  • This page has been accessed 2,352 times.