Maghull, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Maghull, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Maghull, Lancashire
St Andrews Maghull Lancashire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Derby
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ormskirk PLU
Registration District Ormskirk
Records begin
Parish registers: 1729
Bishop's Transcripts: 1610
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Meols
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

MAGHULL (St Andrew) was created a chapel of ease in 1748, in the parish of Halsall, union of Ormskirk, hundred of West Derby, S. division of Lancashire, 8 miles (N. by E.) from Liverpool,on the road to Ormskirk. See also List of Chapelries Lying within Halsall Parish St Andrews Parish Church. Damfield Lane Maghull was consecrated 1880, architect J F Doyle. The ancient chapel stands in the churchyard.[1]

Resources

Ancient Chapel Maghull within St Andrews churchyard.jpg

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Lancashire Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Maghull chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Halsall to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
JOIN = Joiner's Marriage Index (£)
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


MAGHULL ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1663) Indexes
Baptisms Burials
FS 1729-1875; 1890-1897 1729-1883 None
LOPC 1729-1921 1729-1919 1834-1894
JOIN 1833-1837
HALSALL ST CUTHBERT PARISH (1606) Indexes (ancient parish containing MAGHULL Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1606-1893 1606-1883 None
LOPC 1651-1914 1660-1904 1653-1919
AC 1606-1754 1606-1754 1606-1754


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Maghull and comprising the whole ancient parish of Halsall to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HALSALL ST CUTHBERT PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306900.


Poor Law Unions

Ormskirk Poor Law Union, Lancashire


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 20 August 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 August 2014, at 23:27.
  • This page has been accessed 2,630 times.