Mahaska County, IowaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Mahaska County

Guide to Mahaska County Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Iowa
Online Records


Mahaska County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Mahaska County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 17, 1843
County Seat Oskaloosa
Courthouse

Contents

County Courthouse

History

  • Mahaska County Genealogy at BeforeTime.net (Free)
    • maps, biographies, personal references etc from sources prior to 1930
    • links to digital images of short histories, books, and maps

Parent County

1843--Mahaska County was created 17 February 1843 from unorganized territory. It was attached to Washington County prior to organization 1 March 1844. County seat:  Oskaloosa [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Iowa Counties see: Iowa Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Jasper • Keokuk • Marion • Monroe • Poweshiek • Wapello

Mahaska CountyKeokuk CountyWapello CountyMonroe CountyMarion CountyJasper CountyPoweshiek CountyIowa CountyWashington CountyJefferson CountyVan Buren CountyDavis CountyAppanoose CountyWayne CountyLucas CountyWarren CountyPolk CountyStory CountyMarshall CountyTama CountyBenton CountyIAMahaska.JPG

Resources

Biographical

Cemeteries

Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Mahaska County, Iowa. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.

Maps

  • Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Iowa
  • 1875 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for the Townships of Adams, Black Oak, Cedar, Des Moines, Harrison, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Oskaloosa, Pleasant Grove, Prairie, Richland, Scott, Union, and White Oak.
  • 1895 Plat Map: Monroe Township
  • 1905 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for the Townships of Adams, Beacon and Oskaloosa, Black Oak, Cedar, Des Moines, Garfield and Lincoln, Harrison, Madison, Monroe, Pleasant Grove, Prairie, Richland, Scott, Spring Creek, Union, and White Oak.
  • 1913 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for most Townships.
  • 1914 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for most Townships.
  • 1920 Plat Maps this collection contains plat maps for most Townships.

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Mahaska County, Iowa served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Mahaska County, Iowa:

- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Companies D and K
- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I
- 15th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company D
:- 18th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company K
:- 3rd Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H
:- 47th Regiment, Iowa Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company I
:- 7th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company C
:- 8th Regiment, Iowa Infantry, Company H

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mahaska County, Iowa newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Mahaska - Probate records.

Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online..

Societies and Libraries

See also a List of [http://www.genealogyinc.com/iowa/ia-society-archive/ Iowa Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Oskaloosa Iowa Family History Center 1714 Pella Ave, Oskaloosa, IA 52577

United States Location Map

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records pertaining to Mahaska County, Iowa
State Historical Society of Iowa Free list and links to data and "hard copy" material - results of "mahaska county" placed in search box
The Iowa Heritage Digital Collection Free digital images from a variety of Iowa cultural institutions - results of "mahaska county" in the search box
State Library of Iowa Free electronic depository of documents intended for the general public produced by Iowa agencies - results of "mahaska county" in the search box
IAGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
genealogytrails.com Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
[1] [2][3] FamilySearch Free Births, 1880-1935; Deaths 1880-1992; Marriages, 1838-1934; all indexes
Sites that search for links pertaining to Mahaska County, Iowa
RootsWeb Resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Iowa-genealogy.com Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Mahaska County, Iowa
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
See also local libraries and Iowa Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Mahaska County, Iowa
GeneaBloggers enter "Iowa" in search box to see list and links to Iowa blogs
Google+ list of groups from "iowa genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Iowa Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Mahaska County, IA Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Mahaska County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:26.
  • This page has been accessed 9,512 times.