Mahoning County, OhioEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Mahoning County Ohio ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Ohio
Online Records
Coordinates: 41.02°0′N 80.77°0′W / 41.02°N 80.77°W / 41.02; -80.77
Mahoning County, Ohio
Map
Map of Ohio highlighting Mahoning County
Location in the state of Ohio
Map of the U.S. highlighting Ohio
Location of Ohio in the U.S.
Courthouse
Mahoning County Courthouse.jpg
Address Mahoning County Courthouse
120 Market St
Youngstown, Ohio 44503
Mahoning County Website
Phone: 330–740–2104
United StatesGotoarrow.png Ohio Gotoarrow.png Mahoning County

Contents

Historical Facts

Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1856*
1846*
1856*
1845
1795
1846
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries
  • Parent Counties: Formed from Columbiana and Trumbull counties 16 February 1846.[1]
  • County Seat: Youngstown




Neighboring Counties

Trumbull County  • Portage County  • Stark County  • Columbiana County  • Lawrence County, Pennsylvania  • Mercer County, Pennsylvania

Butler CountyColumbiana CountyJefferson CountyTrumbull CountyHancock CountyMercer CountyWashington CountyAllegheny CountyWestmoreland CountyArmstrong CountyVenango CountyMercer CountyClarion CountyLawrence CountyBeaver CountyPortage CountyStark CountyClark CountyTuscarawas CountyMahoning CountyOHMahoning.JPG


Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Ohio county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Ohio County Boundary Maps" (1788-1888) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Ohio counties see: Ohio Counties with Burned Courthouses

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Business Records and Commerce

Cemeteries

Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.

Online Grave Transcripts Published Grave Transcripts County Cemetery Directories

Findagrave.com

Family History Library

Findagrave.com

Interment.net

WorldCat

Names in Stone

USGenWeb

Billion Graves

Billion Graves

Epodunk

Ohio Gravestones

Names in Stone

See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.

General
  • Mahoning Chapter Daughters of the American Revolution, Youngstown, Ohio, Court, Church and Family Records of Mahoning and Columbiana Counties of Ohio FHL film 859777 item 7
  • Mahoning Valley Historical Society has a variety of collections of original church records including but not limited to Lutheran and Reformed congregations within the county
Lutheran
  • Records of Wooland Avenue Lutheran Church, Youngstown, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
Society of Friends
Finding More Church Records

Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mahoning County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:

Court Records

See Ohio Court Records for more information about using these records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library.

DNA

DNA has been collected from men claiming descent from the following Mahoning County, Ohio residents. Attempts have not been made to verify the lineages of those tested.

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Local History

Local histories are available for Mahoning County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Online Resources

Finding More Land Records

Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mahoning County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:


Maps

Ohmahoning.jpg

Military

Civil War


Civil War service men from Mahoning County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Mahoning County.

- 41st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company F
- 105th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies A and H

Naturalization and Citizenship

Original Naturalization records for Mahoning County, Ohio are housed at the Oak Hill Renaissance Place and available for public viewing.


Oakhill Renaissance Place
345 Oakhill Avenue, Suite 102
Youngstown, OH 44502
Phone: 330-740-2110

Newspapers

Mahoning County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.

To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.

For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.

Online Newspapers

Online Newspaper Abstracts

Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form

Finding More Ohio Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mahoning County, Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate

Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Mahoning County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Mahoning County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:

See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).

  • 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
  • NOTE: for Mahoning County, OH the court records currently available through Familysearch are the Transcribed Court Records, not the original Probate Estate or Probate Civil Case Packets. Transcribed court records do not usually contain original signatures, nor is every individual document transcribed by the court which pertains to that case packet. Interim and final reports and other legal documents required by the court are transcribed by a clerk from the actual documents. Frequently there are additional documents within the original case packet itself that are not deemed necessary to transcribe. Mahoning County is fortunate in that both transcribed records and original packets exist for a significant period. Human error is always a factor in transcribing records. There may also be instances where the original does not exist any longer but the transcription does. It is strongly suggested that researchers seek out both the Transcribed Records, and the Original packets where-ever possible.
  • 1846–1899 - Original Mahoning County Probate Estate Case Packets ;are housed at the Mahoning Valley Historical Society Archive. These packets contain the original documents, with actual signatures; wills, administration applications, bonds, inventories, receipts, affidavits, and any other record needed to settle an estate. These packets are the originals.
  • ca. 1870-1905. Original Mahoning County Probate Civil Case packets are housed at the Mahoning Valley Historical Society's Archival Library. These cases include but are not limited to: civil cases, divorces, guardianships, inquests of lunacy, applications for the Worthy Blind (1904-1905), judgements, land transfers resulting from estate files, legal name changes, adoptions, etc. These are original documents with actual signatures.
Finding More Probate Records

Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mahoning County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:

Public Records

Repositories

See also a List of Ohio Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Courthouse

Mahoning County Courthouse
120 Market Street
Youngstown, OH 44503
Phone: 330–740–2104

Probate Court
Phone: 330-740-2310
MCProbate@mahoningcountyoh.gov

Genealogical Resources: County marrige records; Births and Deaths 1864–1908; Guardianship; Will and estates (Wills are on film–original case packets are at the Mahoning Valley Historical Society.)

Mahoning County Recorder's Office
Phone: 330-740-2345
npalermo@mahoningcountyoh.gov

Genealogical Resources: Land and deeds; grave registrations; soldier's discharges after 1864. Mark the envelope of your requests with Probate Office or Recorder's Office

Mahoning County Clerk of Courts
Phone: 330-740-2104

Original civil court packets/files 1871-1901 are housed at the Mahoning Valley Historical Society.

Family History Centers

The main FHC for Mahoning County, Ohio is the Youngstown Ohio Family History Center.

For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.

Libraries

Public Library of Youngstown and Mahoning County
305 Wick Ave.
Youngstown, OH 44503
Phone: 330–744–8636

Genealogical resources: Newspaper film copies and indexes, directories, cemetery inscriptions database. This library is a FamilySearch Center where films can be ordered and viewed.
Museums

Youngstown Historical Center of Industry and Labor
151 W. Wood Street
Youngstown OH 44501–0533
Phone: 330–743-5934

Genealogical resources: Mahoning County Common Pleas Court Records, Court Dockets, Deeds, Newspapers
Societies

Mahoning County Chapter of the Ohio Genealogical Society
PO Box 9333
Youngstown, Ohio 44513-9333
E-mail: MCCOGS@zoominternet.net

The society has volunteers at the courthouse each Thursday 8am to 3pm; located in the Marriage Dept in the basement. Society members also volunteer at the Main Library Thursdays 1–4.

Mahoning Valley Historical Society
648 Wick Avenue
Youngstown, OH 44502-1289
Phone: 330–743-2589
archives@mahoninghistory.org
Genealogical collections: The MVHS Archival Library. Original probate and civil court records 1846–1900 for Mahoning County. Collection includes diaries, Bibles, photographs, fraktur, manuscripts, deeds, wills, maps, architectural and mechanical drawings, ledgers, county and local government records, and church records in addition to other collections.

Taxation

Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.

Original county tax lists are available 1846, and parts of the county for 1859 at the Mahoning Valley Historical Society.

Finding More Tax Records

Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mahoning County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:

Vital Records

See Ohio Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Ohio.

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law occurred in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Mahoning County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953. In addtion, the Youngstown City Health District has births 1909 to present and deaths 1892 to present.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Mahoning County Probate Court with divorce records located with the Clerk of Court.

Birth

Online Birth Indexes and Records

Original Birth Indexes and Records on Microfilm

Marriage

Online Marriage Indexes and Records

Original Marriage Records on Microfilm

  • 1846-1916 - Marriage Records; Marriage Licenses, 1852-1861 - index 1852-1920 FHL films 907323 (first of 23 films)
  • 1846-1865 - Marriages, 1846-1865, Marriage Applications, 1853-1864, Births and Deaths, 1857, of Mahoning County, Ohio; Cemetery Records of Mahoning County FHL film 317439
  • 1857 - Register of Births, Marriages and Deaths FHL film 907325
Death

Online Death Indexes and Records

Original Death Records on Microfilm

Divorce

Finding More Vital Records

Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Mahoning County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:

Web Sites

Places

Mahoning County Ohio Genealogy References

  1. WorldCat 50140092 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed.] (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  2. Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 21:33.
  • This page has been accessed 35,713 times.