Maiden Bradley, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Maiden Bradley, Somerset family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Part of this parish is in Somerset. See also Maiden Bradley, Wiltshire.

Maiden Bradley, Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Mere; Norton Ferris
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Mere PLU
Registration District Mere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608-1609; 1623
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Parish History

MAIDEN-BRADLEY, a village and a parish in the district of Mere. The village and most of the parish is in Wilts, the rest of the parish in Somerset. The village stands 4¼ miles N of Mere, and 5 ESE of Witham railway station. The parish includes, as its Somerset portion, the hamlet of Yarnfield.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474201.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/MaidenBradley/index.html

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 23 September 2013.
Contributor: add any additional relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 14:32.
  • This page has been accessed 899 times.