Maidstone All Saints, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Maidstone All Saints, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Maidstone All Saints, Kent
Maidstone All Saints Kent.jpg
Maidstone All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Maidstone Borough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Maidstone PLU
Registration District Maidstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1542
Bishop's Transcripts: 1576
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MAIDSTONE (All Saints), a borough, markettown, and parish, having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Maidstone, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, of which it is the county town, 8 miles (S.) from Rochester, and 34½ (S. E. by E.) from London.[1]


Maidstone All Saints is the Ancient Parish church of the county town of Maidstone; see Maidstone Wikipedia. The ancient parish acted as mother church to subsequent parish development and included Loddington within the boundary of the parish; a map of the Maidstone, All Saints with St. Philip and St. Stephen, Tovil parish boundary is available at A church near you.

Loose, Kent was formed as chapelry within the Ancient Parish

The collegiate church was built in 1395 next to the Archbishop's Palace and was one of the largest and widest Parish Churches in England. Memorials include a monument to Sir Jacob Astley, the Royalist Civil War Soldier and a memorial to George Washington's great uncle Lawrence Washington which includes the Stars and Stripes in the family coat of arms.

See Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted 'The town and parish of Maidstone: Churches, religious houses and charities', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 308-324 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Maidstone All Saints, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[7]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[8]
Maidstone All Saints, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1912
1560-1903
1559-1989
FREG
1542-1911

FS PRs 1797-1901 (banns)
FSBOOK
1542-1754

KOPC
1754-1911

MIDK 1754-1911

International Genealogical Index may include events from other Maidstone parishes

Christenings Male & female 1770-1785 Batch (C042597); 1785-1796 (C042600); 1796-1804 (C042599). Female only: 1633-1714 (C020953); 1717-1768 (C020943); 1804-1812 (C0425980); 1813-1814 (I005651); 1819-1822 (I005959); 1823-1832 (I005355); 1833-1837 (I005985); 1844-1849 (I005357); 1850-1854 (I005490); 1855-1867 (I005491); 1868-1886 (I005492); 1851-1897 (I005358); 1861-1897 (I005359); 1862-1880 (C013082). 1815-1818 (I005958)

Marriages 1770-1812 Batch(M020079); 1815-1818 Batch (I005958)

Nonconformists

International Genealogical Index

  • Maidstone Earl Street Presbyterian 1732-1825 Batch (C068441)
  • King Street Baptist 1800-1836 (Births) Batch (C091671)
  • Union Street Wesleyan 1796-1837 Batch (C068451)
  • Week Street Independent 1749-1837 Batch (C068431)

Census records

Census returns for Maidstone 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Maidstone Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 208-216. Date accessed: 26 August 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
  7. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
  8. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 13:57.
  • This page has been accessed 4,707 times.