Maine Historical SocietyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Founded in 1822, the Maine Historical Society is the third oldest state historical society in the United States.
"The Maine Historical Society preserves the heritage and history of Maine: the stories of Maine people, the traditions of Maine communities, and the record of Maine's place in a changing world. Because an understanding of the past is vital to a healthy and progressive society, we collect, care for, and exhibit historical treasures; facilitate research into family, local, state, and national history; provide education programs that make history meaningful, accessible and enjoyable; and empower others to preserve and interpret the history of their communities and our state."
Maine Memory Network
Maine Memory Network is a statewide digital museum that provides unprecedented access to over 43,000 historical items from over 270 museums, archives, historical societies, libraries, and other organizations from every corner of Maine.
Included in the database are:
- Letters, journals, notes, manuscripts, and other hand–written materials
- Photographs, albumen prints, glass plate negatives, paintings, and other images
- Sketches, woodcuts, broadsides, business cards, and other graphic items
- Architectural and mechanical drawings, maps, and other oversized documents
- Clothing, tools, household goods, archaeological artifacts, and other museum objects
- Audio and video files
Also on the Maine Memory Network you'll find over 180 online exhibits about Maine history and a timeline of selected events in Maine history from pre–1600 to the present.
Access to Maine Memory Network is free. Users can create an account, then use the online tools to save images to an album, annotate the images in the album, and share their album with friends, colleagues and students through email. Users can also explore online exhibits and send email postcards of historical documents and photographs.
Genealogy and Family History Research at MHS
The Maine Historical Society has one of the largest collections of genealogy material in Maine. They are always adding to their collection, which includes published and compiled genealogies, town histories, vital records, census records, city directories, town reports, maps, photographs, manuscripts, journals, and many other resources to help you with your family history research.
MHS GENEALOGY FORUM
Collaborate with fellow genealogists by posting Surname Queries and other questions. You will need to register for a username and password so you can receive email notification when someone has answered your questions.
- Cost of research services of society.
- This page was last modified on 22 June 2014, at 04:05.
- This page has been accessed 437 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More