Maldon All Saints with St Peter, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Maldon All Saints with St Peter

Guide to Maldon All Saints with St Peter, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Maldon All Saints with St Peter, Essex
Maldon All Saints Essex contributor Robert Edwards.jpg
MALDON All Saints with St. Peter
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Maldon Borough
County Essex
Poor Law Union Maldon PLU
Registration District Maldon
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Maldon St Peter beginning 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630; 1639; 1880
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Maldon
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MALDON, is a borough, port, and a market-town, having separate jurisdiction, and  is the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Dengie, the S. division of Essex, just 10 miles (E.) from Chelmsford, and 38 (E. N. E.) from London. The old borough comprises the parishes of All Saints, St. Peter, and St. Mary. There are places of worship for the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Maldon All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Maldon All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1558-1990 1558-1957 1558-1957
FSPRs Undefined Undefined Undefined

Maldon St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Maldon St Peter Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1556-1750 1556-1710 1556-1750

Maldon All Saints with St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Maldon All Saints with St Peter Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX 1750-1990 1750-1957 1750-1957

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241381.

Poor Law Unions

Maldon Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted: date accessed 28 May 2013
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 10 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 December 2014, at 04:40.
  • This page has been accessed 7,936 times.