Malheur County, OregonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Oregon Gotoarrow.png Malheur County

Guide to Malheur County, Oregon ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oregon
Online Records


Malheur County, Oregon
Map
Map of Oregon highlighting Malheur County
Location in the state of Oregon
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oregon
Location of Oregon in the U.S.
Facts
Founded information needed
County Seat Vale
Courthouse
Address Malheur County Courthouse
251 B Street W
Vale, Or 97918
Phone: 541-473-5151
Malheur County Website


Contents

County Courthouse
 

County Clerk hsa marriage, probate and land records from 1887. [1]

  • Record Loss:

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Oregon County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Oregon County Boundary Maps" (1843-1975) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Cities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Adrian | Jordan Valley | Nyssa | Ontario | Vale

Communities

Please do not format these pages unless you have contents to add to them.

Arock | Brogan | Danner | Juntura | McDermitt | Riverside | Rome

Neighboring Counties

Baker | Grant | Harney | Idaho counties: Canyon | Owyhee | Payette | Washington | Humboldt, Nevada

Trivia Tidbits

Information about localities, too small or too brief to describe in separate pages. Exception to this are Post Offices. > Trivia Tidbits

Resources

Adopt-a-wiki page
Genealogical Council of Oregon logo.jpg This page adopted by:
Genealogical Council of Oregon
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today
Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Malheur County, Oregon

Archives and Libraries

Biography

Trivia Tidbits: Little biographic bits associated with the names of non-population localities.

Cemeteries

Census

  • 1890
  • 1900
  • 1910
  • 1920
  • 1930

Church History and Records

Court Records

History

Land and Property

Maps

Ormalheur.jpg

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Malheur County, Oregon for European and African American settlers included:

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Oregon Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Probate Records

Rivers and Waterways

Details about the rivers and waterways where farms and settlements are often found along them. >> Rivers and Waterways

Societies, Libraries and Museums

Taxation

Vital Records

Many early marriages are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.

See also How to order Oregon Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Oregon Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Divorce Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Oregon Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

Malheur County Oregon Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Malheur County, Oregon page 573, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map V" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap5.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:50.
  • This page has been accessed 5,018 times.