Manchester St Ann, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
St. Ann's church, on the south side of St. Ann's square, founded in 1709, under the auspices of Lady Ann Bland, is a spacious structure in the Grecian style, and of a mixed order, with a tower formerly surmounted by a spire, which has been taken down; the interior is appropriately decorated."[1] Manchester St Ann was created as a chapel of ease from, and lying within the boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Ancient Parish.
St Ann's was built in Acres Field. Construction began in 1709 and the church was consecrated in 1712. It was a Low Church as opposed to the High Church Collegiate Church. Its congregation tended towards the Whigs. A district was not assigned to St Ann's until September 1838. St Ann's church steeple was badly damaged by an earthquake in 1777 and was removed shortly after.
It is noteworthy that the Dean and Fellows of the Collegiate church required payment for any marriage
conducted at St Ann's, Early baptisms and burials i.e. up to 1736 were recorded in the Collegiate Church registers. The same applied to marriages before May 1838.(see web site link below for Henry Mantell's background history of the Collegiate Church)
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church records
Online records
There are online transcriptions for both Ancoats All Souls (beginning in 1850) and prior to that, it's parent church from which it was created--St Ann's Manchester, as well as for most of the Manchester City ecclesiastical parishes--including the ancient parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys, and for the baptism, marriage and burial registers of many of its numerous chapelries lying within its boundaries. Displayed below are those records from specifically All Souls, St Ann's chapelry and for the Cathedral, located at the web sites indicated below; note also the ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| MANCHESTER ST ANN Chapelry (1736) Indexes - (see All Souls Ancoats for post-1850 data) | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1736-1849 | 1737-1754 | 1736-1854 | ||||
| LOPC | 1806-1849 | None | 1777-1854 | ||||
| FREG | None | None | 1813-1854 | ||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1838-1976 | 1837-1881 | ||||
| ANCOATS ALL SOULS Chapelry (1840) Indexes (see also St Ann Manchester pre-1850) | |||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||
| FS | 1837-1908 | 1846-1928 | None | ||||
| LOPC | 1840-1876 | None | None | ||||
| LBMD | 1840-1917 | 1846-1981 | 1837-1882 | ||||
Here are the online transcriptions for the ancient parish for Manchester St Mary (Our Lady), St George and Denys (The Cathedral):
|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes | |||||||||||
|
|
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||||||||
| FS | 1573-1872 | 1573-1889 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1573-1616;1777-1837 | 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs | 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1837-1946 | 1837-1881 | ||||||||
| AC | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | ||||||||
If you did not find your ancestor in any of the above three church registers, then see MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE, & ST DENYS (The Cathedral) for a full list of all chapelries and churches you can search online, and which comprise this vast parish boundary.
Original Records
FamilySearch has microfilmed the original Parish registers for St. Ann's Church, Manchester, 1736-1856, copies of original manuscripts formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.
Manchester Archives Central Library call no.: M 403/1/1/1.
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, 1736-1808. Marriages, 1737-1754. Burials, 1737-1777, 1799-1804. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2113141 |
| Burials, 1806-1807. Baptisms, 1808-1848. Burials, 1777-1854. |
VAULT BRITISH Film 2113142 |
| Baptisms, 1806-1848; burials 1777-1856 (another filming). |
FHL BRITISH Film 919408 |
| Baptisms, 1736-1777; marriages, 1737-1754; burials, 1737-1777. Baptisms and burials, 1777-1812. (another filming) |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357534 Items 3 - 5 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
Henry Mantell's article http://www.aidan.co.uk/article_manchester_cathedral.htm for background to the Dean and Fellows of Manchester Collegiate Church and the reason for St Ann's marriages being recorded there.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
England, Lancaster, Cheshire, Yorkshire Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records)
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 221-247. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 July 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2013, at 05:07.
- This page has been accessed 541 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More