Manchester St Barnabas, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
St. Barnabas' church, Rodney-street, Manchester, in the densely-populated district of Islington, another of ... ten [district Manchester] churches, was commenced in March 1842, and consecrated in November 1844; it contains 1100 sittings. An ecclesiastical parish has been assigned to it..[1].
Manchester St Barnabas South Street Openshaw was created a district church in 1841 from, and lying within the boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St Denys and St George ancient parish.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church records
Online Records
There are online transcriptions for St Barnabas in the City of Manchester and for the ancient parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys. Displayed below are links to online data for the chapelry of St Barnabas as well as for the Cathedral located at the web sites indicated below; note the ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| MANCHESTER ST BARNABAS Chapelry (1842) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1870-1935 | 1867-1884; 1907-1935 (part.) | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1845-1920 | 1837-1881 | ||||||||
|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes | |||||||||||
|
|
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||||||||
| FS | 1573-1872 | 1573-1889 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1573-1616;1777-1837 | 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs | 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1837-1946 | 1837-1881 | ||||||||
| AC | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | ||||||||
To view a full list of Manchester City's over 150 chapelries and online data available for each one, see the Parish (Cathedral) of MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Original Records
FamilySearch has microfilmed the original Parish registers for St. Barnabas' Church, Manchester, 1867-1957 Microfilm copy of original registers filmed at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England and formerly held at Manchester Central Library.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M365/1/1/3-4, M365/2/2, 4-6.
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, 1870-1925. Marriages, 1867-1884, 1907-May 1934. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357639 Items 2 - 6 |
| Marriages, May 1934-1957. |
VAULT BRITISH Film 2357640 Item 1 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
reference
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 221-247. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 July 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2013, at 05:09.
- This page has been accessed 426 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More