Manchester St Clement, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Gotoarrow.png  Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Manchester St Clement, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Chapel History

St. Clement's, in Lever-street, Manchester was built as a chapel of ease. It was erected and opened in 1793 and lay within the civil parish boundaries of Manchester Cathedral Church (Our Lady, St George and St Denys).[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

There are online transcriptions for St Clements in the City of Manchester and for the ancient parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys. Displayed below are links to online data for the chapelry of St Clements as well as for the Cathedral located at the web sites indicated below; note the ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
CHORTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1793) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1793-1811 1793-1811 1793-1811
FS 1793-1871 None None
LBMD 1837-1900 1837-1939 1837-1883

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616


To view a full list of Manchester City's over 150 chapelries and online data available for each one, see the Parish (Cathedral) of MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 1,989 times.