Manchester St George, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Manchester St George, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manchester St George, Lancashire
St George's Church, Manchester .JPG
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Chorlton; Manchester; Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1901
Bishop's Transcripts: 1818
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

Manchester (St George) was created a chapel of ease in 1818 from Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Ancient Parish. It was built in 1790, by the Rev. Samuel Pidgeon, of Sale, and after being used by Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, was purchased and consecrated for a church in 1818.See external link below for Henry Mantell's article explaining the Collegiate Church influence on Manchester Parishes. Some marriages appear in the registers of marriages from early to 1754, only. There are no marriages from 1754 onward.[1]

www.images.manchester.gov.uk/libraries for images of the church Manchester Libraries Image Collection

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

There are online transcriptions for St George Manchester City as well as for the ancient parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys. The ranges of years of available online baptisms, marriages and burial registers for this chapelry and as well for Manchester Cathedral are displayed below:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
MANCHESTER ST GEORGE OLDHAM RD Chapelry (1798) Indexes 
Baptisms Marriages Burials
AC 1798-1812 1798-1812 1798-1812
FS 1786-1797(part); 1798-1898 1841-1930 1798-1853 - part.
LOPC  None None None
LBMD 1837-1917 1841-1972 1837-1883

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all of Manchester Cathedral's numerous attached chapelries, see the  MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE, & ST DENYS page.


Original Records

Parish registers for St. George's Church, Oldham Road, Manchester, 1798-1901 Microfilm copy of originals formerly held at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England.
Hulme is a township with eight parochial chapelries in Manchester parish.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1798-1901. Baptisms in German Street licensed school room, 1854-1860. Marriages, 1841-1901. Burials, 1798-1853.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113200


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438726.


Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Henry Mantell's article http://www.aidan.co.uk/article_manchester_cathedral.htm explains the Dean and Fellows of the Collegiate Church impact on Manchester parishes.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 3,809 times.