Manchester St James, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Manchester St James, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manchester St James, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Chorlton; Manchester; Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1784
Bishop's Transcripts: 1788
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapel History

Manchester (St James) was created a chapel of ease in by 1787 from, and lying within the boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Ancient Parish; located on George Street. It is a spacious brick edifice, with a small stone spire. The Church closed in 1928.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

There are online transcriptions for St James Manchester Chapelry as well as for the ancient parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys baptism, marriage and burial registers all displayed below, located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
GENGLD = Genogold
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
MANCHESTER ST JAMES GEORGE ST Chapelry (1784) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1781-1910 1838-1928 - part. 1787-1910
LOPC None None None
AC 1787-1812 1787-1812 1787-1812
AC 1788-1837 1788-1837 1788-1837
GENGLD 1788-1837 None 1788-1837
LBMD 1837-1881 1838-1914 1837-1881

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all of Manchester City's numerous (over 150) chapelries, see the ancient parish (Cathedral) of MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.


Original Records

Parish registers for St. James' Church, George Street, Manchester, 1784-1928 Microfilm copy of originals at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England and formerly held at Central Library Manchester

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1784-1928. Marriages, 1838-1928. Burials, 1786-1854. Pew rents, 1875-1882.
FHL BRITISH Film
2113143


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721.


Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 221-247. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 August 2014, at 21:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,342 times.