Manchester St Mary, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
St. Mary's, [Manchester] in Dean's-gate and [near] the river Irwell, erected by the Warden and Fellows of the College, by act of parliament, in 1756, is a handsome edifice of the Doric order, with a tower and spire 186 feet in height.
This chapel of ease was one of very few in Greater Manchester that was allowed to perform marriages. By 1806, sanction had been given for marriages, which is reflected in the fact that this chapel's marriage registers commence from 1806 onward, during the Lord Hardwick Act era (post-1754 to 1837).
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
The chapel of St Mary's Manchester has online transcriptions covering many of its marriage, burial and baptism registers, as well as for the ancient parish (the Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys. The available years you can search online are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|MANCHESTER ST MARY Chapelry (1756) Indexes|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all of Manchester City's numerous (over 150) chapelries and district churches, see the ancient parish (the Cathedral) of MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE, & ST DENYS page.
The original parish registers for St Mary Manchester are housed at the Manchester Central Library Archives. FamilySearch has microfilmed and imaged these registers and they are available online at FamilySearch.org.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2013, at 05:17.
- This page has been accessed 251 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More