Manchester St Matthew, Campfield, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Manchester St Mathew, Campfield, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manchester St Matthew, Campfield, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Chorlton; Manchester; Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1798
Bishop's Transcripts: 1798
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

St. Matthew's district chapel, in Castle-field, was created a chapelry by 1826 from, and lying within the boundaries of Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Ancient Parish was erected in 1825, by grant from the Parliamentary Commissioners. It is an elegant structure in the later English style, with a tower and spire.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

There are online transcriptions for many of the Manchester City ecclesiastical parishes--including the ancient parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys, and for the baptism, marriage and burial registers of many of its numerous chapelries lying within its boundaries. Displayed below is the chapelry including the Cathedral with available online data located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years: 

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = findmypast (£)
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk


 MANCHESTER ST MATTHEW Chapelry (1826) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1826-1913 1838-1941 1826-1899 
LOPC 1874-1882  None None
LBMD 1837-1881  1838-1941 1837-1881

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616


To view a full list of all of Manchester City's chapelries and district churches, see the ancient parish the (Cathedral) of MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records

The original chapelry registers of St Matthew Manchester are located at the Manchester Central Library and Archives. FamilySearch has microfilmed and imaged these registers and they are mostly available now, online at FamilySearch.org.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721.


Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Henry Mantell's article http://www.aidan.co.uk/article_manchester_cathedral.htm explains the background of the Manchester Collegiate church Dean and Fellows control over Manchester parishes.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 221-247. Adapted. Date accessed: 19 July 2010.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:04.
  • This page has been accessed 2,150 times.