Manchester St Peter, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
St. Peter's, erected by subscription among the inhabitants, and consecrated in 1794.
The parish of St Peter, in the Cathedral rural deanery, was formed March 29, 1839: the church in the centre of St Peter's square and consecrated in 1794, is a cruciform building of stone in the Classic style, consisting of nave, transepts, two north and two south porches and a south tower containing a clock and one bell: there are sittings for 1000 persons, 150 being free. The register dates from the year 1794. The living is a rectory, net yearly value £220, in the gift of the Dean and Canons of Manchester, and held since 1889 by the Rev. William Bedford, M.A. of Trinity College, Dublin."
Manchester St Peter is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Lancashire, created in 1838 from Manchester Our Lady, St George and St Denys, Lancashire Ancient Parish; located on Mosley Street.
The church was closed in 1906.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
St Peter Oldham Road, Manchester chapelry was built and in operation by the year 1860 and has online data transcriptions from that year for many of its baptisms, marriages and burials. Since it resided within the Manchester Cathedral (the ancient parish) boundary, also note links to the Cathedral of Our Lady, St George and St Denys as well. Displayed below are the web sites indicated with online data; note the ranges of years:
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|MANCHESTER ST PETER OLDHAM RD Chapelry (1860) Indexes|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all of Manchester City's chapelries and district church registers and the links to their online data of baptisms, marriages and burials, see the ancient parish (Cathedral) of MANCHESTER, OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Parish registers for St. Paul's Church, New Cross, Manchester, 1765-1960 have been microfilmed by FamilySearch. Copies of originals are at the Manchester Central Library, Manchester, England and previously held at Manchester Central Library.
| Baptisms, 1765-1924. Marriages, 1838-1960. Marriage banns, 1879-1948. Document of consecration, 1765.
|| FHL BRITISH Film |
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- This page was last modified on 4 January 2013, at 05:20.
- This page has been accessed 226 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More