Manchester St Peter, Oldham Road, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Manchester St Peter, Oldham Road, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manchester St Peter, Oldham Road, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Manchester PLU
Registration District Ashton under Lyne; Chorlton; Manchester; Salford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1765
Bishop's Transcripts: 1795
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Manchester
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

The parish of St Peter, in the Cathedral rural deanery, was formed August 3, 1860, out of St George's, Manchester: the church in Blossom Street, Oldham Road, and consecrated in the year 1860, is an edifice of red brick with dressings of white brick and stone in the Italian style, consisting of an apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, north porch and a lofty western tower with pinnacles containing one bell: there are several small stained windows in the apse: the church will seat 1,350 persons, 500 sittings are free. The register dates from the year 1860. The living is a rectory, net yearly value £280, in the gift of five trustees and held since 1872 by the Rev. John Gruner Stowell, B.A. of Trinity College, Dublin"

Extract taken from Slater's Directory of Manchester, c1896

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records 

St Paul Manchester chapelry has online data transcriptions for many of its baptisms, marriages and burials. Since it resided within the Manchester Cathedral (the ancient parish) boundary, also note links to the parish (Cathedral) of Our Lady, St George and St Denys as well. Displayed below are the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeReg
FS = FamilySearch.org
LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk
LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk
MANCHESTER ST PETER OLDHAM RD Chapelry (1860) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1860-1935  1860-1926 None
LBMD 1837-1881 1860-1975 1860-1881
LOPC 1863-1906 None 1837-1880 

MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes 

 

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1573-1872 1573-1889  None
LOPC 1573-1616;1777-1837 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs
LBMD 1837-1881 1837-1946 1837-1881 
AC  1573-1616 1573-1616 1573-1616

To view a full list of all of Manchester City's chapelries and district church registers and the links to their online data of baptisms, marriages and burials, see the ancient parish (Cathedral) of MANCHESTER, OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.

Original Records Parish registers for St. Peter's Church, Oldham Road, Manchester, 1860-1951  have been microfilmed by FamilySearch. Copies are of the original registers filmed at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England.
In 1937 the parish united with the parish of St. James the Less to become St. Peter Oldham Road with St. James the Less.
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M299/4/1-2, M299/4/2/1-2.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1860-1935. Marriages, 1860-February 1926.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357638 Items 3 - 6
Marriages, January 1926-1951.
FHL BRITISH Film
2357639 Item 1


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721.

http://www.1881pubs.com/ for details of public houses in the 1881 census

Poor Law Unions

Manchester Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Image of Manchester St Peter Church (Flickr)


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 27 August 2014, at 21:18.
  • This page has been accessed 1,451 times.