Mangotsfield, GloucestershireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Mangotsfield, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mangotsfield, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Barton Regis
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Keynsham PLU
Registration District Keynsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1579
Bishop's Transcripts: 1670
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bristol
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bristol (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MANGOTSFIELD (St. James), a parish, in the union of Keynsham, hundred of Barton-Regis, W.division of the county of Gloucester, 5¼ miles (N. E. byE.) from Bristol. There are places of worship for Independents and other dissenters. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288786.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Website

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 247-251. Date accessed: 25 February 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,045 times.