Manitoba GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
A recent index to many published atlases, biographies, census records (1851–1881), directories, family histories, genealogies, immigration lists, land records, local histories, Loyalist listings, marriage records, native races, naturalizations, and slavery records is:
Elliot, Noel Montgomery, ed. The Central Canadians, 1600–1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates. 3 vols. Toronto: Genealogical Research Library, 1994. (Family History Library book 971 D22cc.) Indexes over 500,000 names from various sources for the provinces of Manitoba and Ontario. Sources are listed at the end of each volume.
How to convert Ontario film numbers to FHL film numbers=> http://www.archives.gov.on.ca/english/interloan/v-ao-gsu.htm
- Canadian Genealogy Index 1600s–1900s, from the Genealogical Research Library. Novato, Calif.: Brøderbund Software Inc., 1996. (Family Histroy Library compact disc No. 9, Part 118) This compact disc gives dates and places for about two million names. It also includes the source of the information.
Writing and Sharing Your Family History
Sharing your own family history is valuable for several reasons:
- It helps you see gaps in your own research and raises opportunities to find new information.
- It helps other researchers progress in researching ancestors you share in common.
- It draws other researchers to you who already have information about your family that you do not yet possess.
- It draws together researchers with common interests, sparking collaboration opportunities. For instance, researchers in various localities might choose to do lookups for each other in remote repositories. Your readers may also share photos of your ancestors that you have never seen before.
- See also:
- This page was last modified on 3 March 2013, at 05:19.
- This page has been accessed 1,393 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More