Manitowoc County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Manitowoc County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Manitowoc County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Manitowac County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 7, 1836
County Seat Manitowac
Courthouse
Address
Manitowoc County Courthouse
1010 S 9th Street
Manitowoc, WI 54220;
Phone. 920.683.4000

WI Manitowoc.png

Contents

County Courthouse


Manitowoc County Courthouse
1010 S 9th Street
Manitowoc, WI 54220;
Phone. 920.683.4000

Register of Deeds has births, marriage and deed records from 1850,
land and military records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, probate 
and court records [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1836--Manitowoc County was created 7 December 1836 from Brown County. County seat: Manitowoc [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

The Manitowoc County, Wisconsin Genealogy website has a list of cemeteries by township (with transcriptions), a master list of surnames in cemeteries, and obituaries.

Census

1850 U.S. Federal Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1855 Wisconsin State Census— Free searchable images to the 1855 Wisconsin State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search – Pilot Site. This census includes name of head of family, individuals in the household by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born.

1860 U.S. Federal Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org1865 WIsconsin State Census - Only partial records are available.

1870 U.S. Federal Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1875 Wisconsin State Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1880 U.S. Federal Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1885 Wisconsin State Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1890 U.S. Federal Census - Records were destroyed by fire and are not avaiable for Manitowoc County.

1895 Wisconsin State Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1900 U.S. Federal Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1905 Wisconsin State Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1910 U.S. Federal Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1920 U.S. Federal Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

1930 U.S. Federal Census - Indexed records can be found on Familysearch.org

Church History and Records

Catholic church records for Manitowoc County churches can be found at the Green Bay Diocese Archives.

Lutheran

First Lutheran Church, Manitowoc

  • Records of First Lutheran Church, Manitowoc, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

St. Paul's Lutheran Church

  • Records of St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Manitowoc County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records 

Circuit Court Case Files from 1849 - 1943 are available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001

Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Circuit Court Look-Up Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Archives, Libraries, and Museums
Biographies
Church Records
Cemetery Records
Court Records
Histories
Immigration/emigration/migration
Maps
Newspapers
Societies

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

The Manitowoc County, Wisconsin Genealogy website contains town, village, church, and school histories. A history of Manitowoc County is recorded from 1674-1911. Several photos of early Manitowoc County businesses are available.  The main page of the Manitowoc Public Library under "History Links" also provides business and family photo collections for view.

Land and Property

Maps

Plat maps for Manitowoc County are available for 1872, 1893, and 1920.  These maps can be found at the Manitowoc Public Library.

The Manitowoc County, Wisconsin Genealogy website contains a current Manitowoc County Map, 1878 County Map, Plat Maps for 1872, 1878 and 1893, and a variety of other maps.

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War

Civil War service men from Manitowoc County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Manitowoc County.

- 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company A
- 9th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry, Company B

Naturalization and Citizenship 

Declarations of Intention and Naturalizations from 1848-1955 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001


Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Online index available at:  http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/

Citizenship Record Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Newspapers

Many Manitowoc County newspapers can be found at the Manitowoc Public Library.  Further newspapers can be found at the Wisconsin Historical Society in Madison.

The Manitowoc County, Wisconsin Genealogy website includes links to newspaper indexes, news items from old newspapers, biographies, and newspaper articles on marriages and births.

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records for Manitowoc County are located at the courthouse in the city of Manitowoc.  A card file index is also available.  

Microfilmed copies of probate case files from 1864-1959 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Probate Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Manitowoc Public Library 707 Quay Street
Manitowoc, WI 54220
Main Phone #: (920) 686-3000

See the library's Genealogy page for online and other collections.


Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Pre-1907 birth, marriage, and death registrations are available on microfilm at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
 Request forms available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Manitowoc County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 December 2014, at 17:40.
  • This page has been accessed 5,576 times.