Manningham (St Paul)Edit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Manningham St Paul

Guide to Manningham St Paul, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Manningham (St Paul)
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morley
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Bradford PLU
Registration District Bradford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1848
Bishop's Transcripts: 1848
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Pontefract
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MANNINGHAM, a township, in the parish, borough,and union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley, W. riding of York, ¾ of a mile (N. W.) from Bradford. St. Jude's, a district church, was erected in 1842. A second church has been erected more recently, dedicated to St. Paul the Apostle. [1]

Manningham [St Paul] is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1846 from Bradford [St Peter] Ancient Parish; located on Church Street. Other places in the parish include: Daisy Hill, Whetley, and Four Lane Ends.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Manningham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
  MANNINGHAM (ST PAUL) CHAPELRY (1825) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1825-1897 1844 None
JOIN None None None
AC None None None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464257.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 247-251. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 October 2014, at 01:09.
  • This page has been accessed 784 times.