Manningham St Luke, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Manningham_St_Luke,_Yorkshire

Guide to Manningham St Luke, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

One night in 1871 Manningham Mill was totally destroyed by fire. Lister boldly decided to build a new mill on the site of the old one. However, this one would be even bigger and better than before. At its peak, eleven thousand people were employed there; it used 50,000 tons of coal per year and was the largest of its type in Europe.

Now there were so many people in Manningham that St Paul's church was bursting at the seams, despite being enlarged twice before 1867. Yet again, John Hollings dipped into his wallet and called on the services of Thomas Healey's son who designed the new church. It was built on land near Lister's mill and dedicated to St. Luke in 1881. Meanwhile, the congregation of St Jude's helped pay for the building of a church near White Abbey Road, which was dedicated to St Mary Magdalene in 1878.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

FamilySearch Records

St. Luke's chapel, in Manningham, is a chapelry in Bradford parish

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Manningham St Lukesexists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
MANNINGHAM St Luke Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1848-1897 1844 1864-1866
JOIN None None None
AC None None None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464257.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 540 times.