Mansell Gamage, HerefordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Mansell Gamage, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Mansell Gamage, Herefordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Weobley PLU|
|Parish registers: 1664|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1660|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Herefordshire Record Office|
MANSELL-GAMAGE (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Weobley, hundred of Grimsworth, county of Hereford, 8½ miles (W. N. W.) from Hereford.
The 12 th century church at Mansell Gamage, a small settlement and civil parish in Herefordshire has been converted to a private dwelling and the Ancient Parish of Mansell Gamage is united with Byford, Herefordshire see Herefordshire Churches
The parish church has been designated as grade II listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this area was part of Weobley registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
St. Owens Street
Phone 01432 260565
Fax 01432 261720
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
Herefordshire Archives Harold Street Hereford HR1 2QX England Tel: 01432 260750 Fax: 01432 260066 Email: email@example.com Website: here
Film numbers in the Family Histry Library collection
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288817.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 247-251. Accessed and adapted 12 March, 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 4 September 2014, at 20:11.
- This page has been accessed 1,011 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki