Mansfield St Peter and St Paul, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Mansfield St Peter and St Paul, Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1598
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of Mansfield
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


MANSFIELD (St. Peter), a market-town and parish, and head of a union, in the N. division of the wapentake of Broxtow and of the county of Nottingham, 14 miles (N. by W.) from Nottingham with the hamlet of Pleasley-hill. Wesleyans, General Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Wesleyans, and Unitarians have a place of worship.[1]

Additional information:

Mansfield St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Nottinghamshire. Other places in the parish include: Bleak Hills, Dalestorth, Moorhaigh, Radmanthwaite, Penniment Houses, Pleasley Hill, and Oakham.

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project are researching the history of the church Mansfield St Peter and St Paul

The Parish Church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

From this parish were formed

Mansfield St John the Evangelist Southwell and Nottingham Church History project

The Church of St John the Evangelist Mansfield has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

Mansfield St Mark Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project

The church of St Mark mansfield has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Mansfield Wikipedia and  A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 247-251.  Here


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district

Certificates may be obtained from:

The Register Office
County House
100 Chesterfield Road South
Mansfield
NG19 7AQ
Phone 01623 476564
Fax 01623 636284
email:mansfieldro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Mansfield St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
MANSFIELD PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1812

Baptisms 1559-1950 Marriages 1559-1950 Burials 1559-1961 Bishop's Transcripts 1598-1902

Pleasley Hill St Barnabas

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1891-1927Marriages 1897-1968

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Mansfield St Peter and St Paul

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438905.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Military Memorials

War memorials - Brunts Grammar School, Mansfield 1914-1918 and 1939-1945, also War Memorial - Mansfield, Sutton and District Co-op Society Queen Street, Mansfield, W.W.1 and W.W.2, also War Memorial - Council Chamber Mansfield Town Hall, W.W.1 and W.W.2, and the War Memorial - Old Meeting House, Mansfield 1914-1918, and 1939-1945, with a Memorial carved on a piece of stone from Ypres August 1920.  Also War Memorial - Municipal Baths, Mansfield, War Memorial - Pleasley Vale erected by William Hollins Ltd to thos who fell in both World Wars, War Memorial - General Post Office, Mansfield W.W.1.  War Memorial - Queen Elizabeth's Grammar School, Mansfield for both World Wars, War Memorial - Mansfield, St. Augustine's W.W.1.  War Memorial - Mansfield, St. John's - W.W.1. War Memorial - Mansfield St. Peter and St. Paul - To the men who fell in the South African War 1899-1902, W.W.1.  Nottingham, The Meadows - St. George's, Inside burials dating from 1912, as well as War Memorial Plaques for both World Wars, Nottingham The Meadows both World Wars, Nottingham Arkwright St. St. Saviours - those buried inside the church, and also the W.W. 1 and 2, Memorials.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.91, pages 35-50, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Websites

Mansfield in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:14.
  • This page has been accessed 2,056 times.