Mansfield Woodhouse, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Mansfield Woodhouse, Nottinghamshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Mansfield PLU
Registration District Mansfield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1626
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of Mansfield
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


MANSFIELD-WOODHOUSE, a village and a parish in Mansfield district, Notts. The village stands ¾ of a mile W of the river Maun, and 1½ N of Mansfield r. station; and has a post office under Mansfield. The parish includes part of Sherwood forest. There are chapels for Independents, Wesleyans, and Primitive Methodists.[1]

Additional information:

Mansfield Woodhouse is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire, created in 1736 from chapelry in Mansfield St Peter and St Paul, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched this parish Mansfield Woodhouse St Edmund King and Martyr

The church of St Edmund has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Mansfield Woodhouse Wikipedia and  A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 247-251. here.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

This area was in the Mansfield registration district from 1837; for registration district history Mansfield registration district

Certificates may be obtained from:

The Register Office
County House
100 Chesterfield Road South
Mansfield
NG19 7AQ
Phone 01623 476564
Fax 01623 636284
email:mansfieldro.cc@nottscc.gov.uk

Church records

Mansfield Woodhouse St Edmund King and Martyr parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
MANSFIELD WOODHOUSE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL

1790-1837


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1653-1952 Marriages 1657-1956 Burials 1653-1959 Bishop’s Transcripts 1626-1846

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Mansfield Woodhouse

Mansfield Woodhouse - St. Edmund the Martyr.  Cemetery - Welbeck Road.  A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions in the Welbeck Road Cemetery, a short way from the church, giving an alphabetical listing of surname, given name, date of death and age, the earliest date being 1867. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine, vol. 93 pages 53-62, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Mansfield Woodhouse.  Transcription of memorial inscriptions dating from 1714, giving surname, given names, date of death and age.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/22, and article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, pages 16-17, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n also

Forest Town, Mansfield St Alban the Martyr.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions, dating from 1911, giving surname, given names, date of death and age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 57, pages 35-37, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Mansfield Woodhouse Paupers 1859.  Trascribed by Bailey, Bryan.  Alphabetical listing of the paupers, surname, given name, the amount given, and number of loaf of bread given.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 127, pages 39-41, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Mansfield Woodhouse Church Register 1653 -1777 Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan A listing of names of people in the Parish, their positions both inside and outside the church, dating from 1653-1777, some entries to 1809. Original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 8254, and transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 129, pages 37-45, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438905.

See Nottinghamshire Census

1831 Census - Mansfield. This Census has been done by streets, with the name of the people living in it, showing the head of the household, number of males and females in the household, and their profession. Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref. DC/M1/18/1, Transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 95, pages 67-88. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Military Records

Transcribed by Bailey, Brian.  Mansfield Woodhouse Soldier's Furlough 1800-1801.  Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 2104/1-5.  Short letters regarding some Soldiers why they couldn't rejoin their Battalion, during 1800-1801.  Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 121, pages 45-47, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Newton, M. Nottingham Journal - of Newark, Gainsborough, Retford, Worksop, Mansfield, Chesterfield, Grantham and Sheffield Advertiser - January 11th 1800, Nottinghamshire Regiement of militia - List of Volunteers Discharged into his Majesty's Regular Forces. Article gives date of Discharge, persons name, and Parish dated July 22nd-November 10th. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 88 pages 24-27, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n


Occupations

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan. Mansfield Woodhouse Apprenticeship Indentures 1738-1791.  A copy of various Apprenticeship Indentures, for the Mansfield Woodhouse area, dated 1738-1791, available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 2110/1-10, and also the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 123, pages 52-55, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Mansfield Woodhouse Apprentice 1810.  Apprentice Rebecca Dutton appointed as Apprentice to Pleasley Cotton Mill 1810, by 2 Church Wardwens, and also two Overseers of the Poor.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 8397, transcription in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 117, page 72, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Mansfield Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Mansfield Woodhouse in GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 16:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,870 times.