Mappleton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Mappleton

Guide to Mappleton, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mappleton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holderness
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Skirlaugh PLU
Registration District Skirlaugh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery North Holderness
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of East Riding
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1682.

MAPPLETON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Skirlaugh, N. division of the wapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York, 2½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Hornsea containing the hamlet of Great Cowden, and part of the township of Great Hatfield. This place, anciently Mapleton, from abounding in maple-trees, was part of the possessions of Peter le Brus. The dissenters have a place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Mappleton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
MAPPLETON PARISH (1711) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1711-1869

1711-1842,1847

None

JOIN None

1711-1836

None

AC None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464221.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Rererence

  1. Lewis, Samuel A, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 251-253. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 October 2014, at 01:11.
  • This page has been accessed 1,334 times.