Marazion, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  CornwallGotoarrow.png  Cornwall Parishes

Marazion, Cornwall
Marazion Cornwall.JPG
Marazion Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Penwith
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Penzance PLU
Registration District Penzance
Records begin
Parish registers: 1813
Bishop's Transcripts: 1813
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Penwith
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

MARAZION, an incorporated market-town and a chapelry, in the parish of St. Hilary, union of Penzance, hundred of Penwith, W. division of Cornwall, 63½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Launceston, and 282 (W. S. W.) from London. There are several places of worship for dissenters. [1]

Marazion is an Ecclesiastical Parish and a market town in the county of Cornwall, created in 1823 from chapelry in St Hilary Ancient Parish.

The original parish church is at St Hilary. In Marazion there was a chapel of ease dedicated to St Hermes (recorded in 1308): by 1735 it had become ruinous and was rebuilt. In 1861 a new church (dedicated to All Saints) was built on the same site which became a parish church in 1893. The architect was J. P. St Aubyn.

St Hilary, Cornwall; was the ‘mother church’ at Churchtown. The church rites of the entire parish, (baptisms, marriages and burials) were all performed at the ‘mother church’ until 1813 when the Marazion church was awarded the ability to conduct baptisms and burials. It was not until about 1850 that the Marazion church was allowed to conduct marriages. In 1892 Marazion became a fully independent parish.

Therefore it is prudent for researchers of the parishes of  Perranuthnoe, Cornwall, St Hilary, Cornwall, and Marazion (including St Michael’s Mount) to check the records of all of those parishes.

The Methodist church is a classical revival building of 1862 with galleries and he mentions one grand Georgian house at the west end of the town.

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Marazion, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[2]
CPRI = Cornwall Parish Register Index - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Marazion, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
COPC 1813-1902
1838-1912
1813-1938
CPRI 1841-1902

1839-1897
FMP 1813-1857
FREG 1813-1902

1813-1900
FS PRs 1813-1902 1838-1901 1813-1900

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P 136

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

The history registers and much more have been contributed by the Online Parish clerk for Marazion .

The chapel at St Michael's Mount has an additinal page http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/l_m/michaels_mount_st.php

Although part of the Marazion parish it is necessary to consider burials in the old graveyard at St Michaels Mount. Home of the St Aubyn family and formerly an abbey as well as a castle on the landward side at the foot of the mount lived mariners and fishermen in a small community.

The Mount is accessible by foot at low tide and by boat from Marazion and is a property managed by the National Trust.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241266.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Penzance Poor Law Union

Probate records


Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Marazion in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 251-253. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 3 December 2013.
  3. 'Database Coverage,' Cornwall Parish Register Index, accessed 1 February 2014.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 15:55.
  • This page has been accessed 1,338 times.