Marbury, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Marbury

Guide to Marbury, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Marbury church.jpg

Contents

Parish History

MARBURY, a parish, in the union and hundred of Nantwich, S. division of the county of Chester; containing, with the township of Norbury, 3 miles (N. N. E.) from Whitchurch. It is situated at the extremity of the county, bordering upon Shropshire. It comprises 3152 acres, of which 1754 are in Marbury cum Quoisley.[1]


Marbury St Michael or Marbury cum Quoisley  was a chapelry in  Whitchurch, Cheshire Ancient parish and includes the hamlets of Hollins Lane, Hollyhurst (part), Marley Green and Willeymoor (part). It became a parish in 1870.

St Michael's Church, Marbury, also known as St Michael and All Angels, stands on a small rise overlooking Big Mere in the village of Marbury, Cheshire, England. Its benefice is combined with those of St Chad, Tushingham, and St Mary, Whitewell .

Marbury is a small village in the civil parish of Marbury cum Quoisley. The village lies around 3 miles (5 km) north east of Whitchurch in Shropshire and 7 miles (11 km) south west of Nantwich in Cheshire. Nearby villages include Malpas, No Man's Heath, Norbury, Wirswall and Wrenbury. The civil parish is on the boundary with Shropshire, and also contains the small settlements of Hollins Lane, Marley Green and Quoisley, as well as parts of Hollyhurst and Willeymoor.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church records

Marbury St Michael chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Marbury St Michael Chapelry (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1538-1909
  NONE
1538-1934
  NONE
1538-1944
  NONE
FS BT'S 1593-1882
  NONE
1600-1838
  NONE
1600-1882
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Cheshire Record Office DocumentReference P 39P39/1/1-3, 2/1-3, 3/1-3, 4, 5/1-2. Marbury Parish records Date 1538-1987 Description Registers: Christenings 1538-1943, Marriages 1583-1983, Burials 1538-1944. Records other than registers 1618-1987 Related Material. See also Whitchurch

URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-p39&cid=0

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Family Search Historical Records.

Parish Registers Contents FHL Film
Burials, 1538-1812. Baptisms, 1538-1943. Marriages, 1538-1952. Banns of marriages, 1813-1911. BRITISH 2093579
Burials, 1813-1944. BRITISH 2093666 Items 1 - 2

Bishop's transcripts for Marbury, 1578-1881 Cheshire Record Office number: EDB/142

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1578-1579, 1586, 1589, 1593, 1832. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600-1601, 1607-1614, 1625-1627, 1632-1739, 1741-1830, 1837, 1836, 1835, 1833. Baptisms, burials, 1838-1847, 1849-1851, 1853-1854, 1875-1882. Marriages, 1838, 1837. BRITISH 1551240

Non-Conformist Churches

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record Office DocumentReference EMS 251  Norbury (Marbury) Methodist Chapel
Date 20th century Description Registers1939-58
URL http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/a2a/records.aspx?cat=017-ems251&cid=0

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Nantwich (1837–53)
  • Whitchurch (1853–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • South Cheshire (post 1998)

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 29 March 2013

Bibliography

Wrenbury and Marbury: The History of Two Parishes and the Nearby Villages, Latham FA, ed. (Local History Group; 1999), p.71 (ISBN: 0-9522284-5-9)
Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: B. T Batsford, pp. 225–227
Thornber, Craig (2001 & 2005), A Scrapbook of Cheshire Antiquities: Marbury-cum-Quoisley, http://www.thornber.net/cheshire/htmlfiles/marbury.html, retrieved 3 October 2007
Salter, Mark (1995), The Old Parish Churches of Cheshire, Malvern: Folly Publications, p. 50, ISBN 1871731232
Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 18, 275, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 19:48.
  • This page has been accessed 1,765 times.