Marengo County, AlabamaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Alabama  Gotoarrow.png  Marengo County

Guide to Marengo County, Alabama ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Alabama
Online Records


Marengo County, Alabama
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Alabama
Location of Alabama in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 6, 1818
County Seat Linden
Courthouse
Marengo County, Alabama Courthouse.jpg
Address Marengo County Courthouse
101 East Coats Avenue
Linden, AL 36748
Phone: (334) 295-2219 County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Probate Judge has marriage, probate and land records
Registrat in Chancery has divorce records
Clerk circuit Court has court records [1]

History

Parent County

1818--Marengo County was created 6 February 1818 from the Choctaw Cession of 1816.
County seat: Linden [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Alabama county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Alabama County Boundary Maps" (1799-1980) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Fire.png
Marengo County had destructive courthouse fires in 1848 and 1964.[3]

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

For a list of record loss in Alabama counties see: Alabama Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Almarengo.jpg

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Additional Marengo County cemeteries are included in Alabama Cemetery Records Vol. 1 at FamilySearch Books Online - free.

Census

Marengo County, Alabama
Year Pop.  %±
1820 2,933
1830 7,700 162.5%
1840 17,264 124.2%
1850 27,831 61.2%
1860 31,171 12.0%
1870 26,151 −16.1%
1880 30,890 18.1%
1890 33,095 7.1%
1900 38,315 15.8%
1910 39,923 4.2%
1920 36,065 −9.7%
1930 36,426 1.0%
1940 35,736 −1.9%
1950 29,494 −17.5%
1960 27,098 −8.1%
1970 23,819 −12.1%
1980 25,047 5.2%
1990 23,084 −7.8%
2000 22,539 −2.4%
2010 21,027 −6.7%
For tips on accessing Marengo County, Alabama census records online, see: Alabama Census.

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Magnolia

Court

Directories

Marengo County, Alabama Online Historical Directories - identifies historical city, county, business and other directories available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Marengo County, Alabama see:

  • Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Marengo County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2008. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes free surname index. FHL Book 976.1392 E7b.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Marengo County, Alabama. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.

Maps

Military

Civil War, 1861-1865

Civil War service men from Marengo County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Marengo County.

- 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company F
- 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D(Canebrake Rifle Guards)
- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A
- 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D "Canebrake Legion"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A "Washington Light Infantry"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C "Marengo Rifles"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E "Chamberlain Rifles or Woodruff Rifles"
- 21st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G
- 23rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company C
- 43rd Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, B and E



Newspapers

Finding More Alabama Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Marengo County, Alabama newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate Records

Probate records are held by the Marengo County, Alabama Probate Court. Most records are housed at the Marengo County, Alabama Courthouse. Many records are on microfilm at the Family History Library.

See the wiki page Alabama Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.

Record types: Wills, dower records, personal property sales, settlement records, orphans’ records, and bonds.

  • Inventory of the County Archives of Alabama: Marengo County. Birmingham, Ala.: The Project, 1940. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Taxation

Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.

  • 1865-1866 - U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Marengo County is in District 1.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama. See also How to order Alabama Vital Records


Birth
  • 1906-1913 - Marengo County Birth Index 1906-1913. Batches B548121 and C548121 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
  • To 1825 Index to Marriages at Ancestry – ($); Index. contains over 12,000 names. Each entry includes groom, bride, marriage date, county, and state. Every name is indexed so you can search for one name, or two names that are linked.
  • 1818-1851, 1923, 1926, 1929, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry – ($); Index. This collection is comprised of indexes created by several agencies - the Alabama Center for Health Statistics, Jordan Dodd of Liahona Research, and Hunting For Bears.
  • 1818-1851 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry – ($); Index. This database is a collection of marriage records from the state. Researchers will find the names of both bride and groom along with the marriage date. The county where the ceremony was performed is also provided. Containing about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
Death
  • 1881–1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry – ($); Index. Volunteers extracted the details in this index from microfilmed copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. details vary depending on the original record. Note that the number of available records can vary widely by county, and this database does not necessarily represent a comprehensive set of death records for the state during this time.

Voting Registers

Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History.  Marengo County has three books, with working links to two:

Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Demopolis Public Library
211 East Washington Street
Demopolis, Alabama 36732
Telephone: 334-289-1595

Their genealogy collection is found in theGwyndolyn Collins Turner Reading Room. This includes local and state histories, newspapers, family files, census records, and more.

Family History Centers

Marengo County Alabama Genealogy Websites

Marengo County Alabama Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Marengo County p. 38. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Alabama Counties: Marengo County in Alabama Department of Archives and History (accessed 16 March 2014).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 November 2014, at 23:12.
  • This page has been accessed 13,176 times.