Maresfield, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Maresfield, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1594|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
MARESFIELD (St. Bartholomew), a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Rushmonden, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 2 miles (N. by W.) from Uckfield;At Nutley is a district church, of recent erection, dedicated to St. James.
Maresfield St Bartolomew is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of East Sussex.
A history of the church Maresfield St Bartholomew
The Parish Church of St Bartholomew Maresfield has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
See also Maresfield Wikipedia
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Parish registers exist from 1538. However, these have not been indexed at FamilySearch.org. The Registers were deposited in the East Sussex Record Office.
- A2A East Sussex Record Office: Parish of Maresfield A2A (Access to Archives) inventory of holdings of East Sussex Record Office in relation to the Parish of Maresfield.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Maresfield
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464163.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 11 January 2016, at 19:50.
- This page has been accessed 2,936 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News