Mareston, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Mareston, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Mareston, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shamwell
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford PLU
Registration District North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Shorne
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis--
MERSTON (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of Shamwell, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 4¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Gravesend. This place is parochial in its ecclesiastical jurisdiction, but in other respects is part of Shorne. [1]


MERSTON, a hamlet in Shorne parish, Kent; 2 miles NW of Strood r. station. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Family History Library film numbers
Mareston

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306857.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 295-298. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:04.
  • This page has been accessed 697 times.