Margate St John the Baptist, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Margate, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Margate St John the Baptist, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringslow or Isle of Thanet
County Kent
Poor Law Union Thanet PLU
Registration District Thanet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1559
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Margate is a seaside town in the Isle of Thanet and a civil parish in the Thanet district of Kent. See Margate Wikipedia The civil parish includes

Cliftonville, Cliftonville Wikipedia

Garlinge, Garlinge Wikipedia

Palm Bay Palm Bay Wikipedia

and Westbrook Westbrook Wikipedia.

Margate St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the town. The parish boundary included Woodchurch and Garlinge.

The Parish church of St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building See also Kent Churches website

From this parish the Anglican church of St Paul, Northdown Road was formed. The church of St Paul was built in 1873-1874 and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

All Saints Church, All Saints Avenue, Margate dates from 1894 and has been designated as a grade C listed building British listed building

Other places of Worship in the town include

Wesleyan Methodist The former Methodist Chapel in Hawley Square is one of a group of listed buildings The former chapel has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The Methodist Church of St Stephen Cliftonville which dates from 1876-1878 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Lady Huntingdon's Chapel
Baptist, Ebenezer Chapel The Cecil Square Baptist Chapel and it's Sunday School building form a group of listed buildings. The Chapel which dates from circa 1870 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Congregational Chapel
Calvinist Chapel
Quaker's Chapel, Drapers
Brethren
Roman Catholic Chapel

Margate Cemetery, Manston Road has a Non Conformist Cemetery Chapel which has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building and a paired Church of England chapel British listed building

Here is an important jurisdictional perspective by Samuel A. Lewis -
MARGATE (St. John the Baptist), a sea-port, market-town, and parish, in the cinque-port liberty of Dovor, of which it is a member, and in the union of the Isle of Thanet, locally in the lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 72½ miles (E.) from London. The church is dedicated to the Holy Trinity. The Baptists, Wesleyans, Lady Huntingdon's Connexion, the Presbyterians, and Roman Catholics, have places of worship. There is a Seamen's chapel. The Wesleyans have a small meetinghouse at Garlinge, and the Society of Friends possess one at Drapers' Hospital. [1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Margate St John the Baptist, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free[6]
Margate St John the Baptist, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1901 1559-1901 1559-1905; 1656-1812 (Banns) 1559-1905; 1656-1812 (Banns) 1559-1899 1559-1899
KOPC 1679-1792
1686-1812
1681-1753

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306863.

FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

 

Poor Law Unions

Thanet Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

MARGATE (St. John the Baptist), a sea-port, market-town, and parish, in the cinque-port liberty of Dovor, of which it is a member, and in the union of the Isle of Thanet, locally in the lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 72½ miles (E.) from London.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 253-257. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 03:02.
  • This page has been accessed 4,102 times.