Margate Trinity, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KenEngland Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Margate Holy Trinity, Kent family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Margate Trinity, Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringslow or Isle of Thanet
County Kent
Poor Law Union Thanet PLU
Registration District Thanet
Records begin
Parish registers: 1842
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Margate is a seaside town in the Isle of Thanet and a civil parish in the Thanet district of Kent. See Margate Wikipedia For other places of worship in the town see Margate St John the Baptist, Kent

The church of Holy Trinity Margate was built in 1825-1829 and consecrated in 1829 Old Church history

Margate Trinity was formed from the Ancient Parish of Margate St John the Baptist, Kent as an ecclesiastical parish in 1842.

The church was bombed on 1 June 1843 and services from 1943-1956 were held in the church hall.

On donated land the new church of Holy Trinity was built in 1957 and consecrated on 26 June 1959 New Church history

See Kent Churches website

The parish is on the east of the town and neighbours Margate St John the Baptist, Kent and St Peter in Thanet, Kent

Resources

Civil Registration

Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

Family History Library film numbers
Margate Trinity

See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306863.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Poor Law Unions

Thanet Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 June 2014, at 14:06.
  • This page has been accessed 891 times.