Marinette County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Marinette County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Marinette County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


Marinette County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 27, 1879
County Seat Marinette
Courthouse
Address Marinette County Courthouse
1926 Hall Ave
Marinette, WI 54143;
Phone. 715.732.7532
WI Marinette.png

Contents

County Courthouse

Marinette County Courthouse
1926 Hall Ave
Marinette, WI 54143;
Phone. 715.732.7532

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1879;
Clerk Circuit Courth has divorce and court records from 1879;
Regisrar in Probate has probate records from 1879 [1]

Historical Facts

Parent County

1879--Marinette County was created 27 February 1879 from Oconto County.   County seat: Marinette [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Towns

  • Amberg
  • Athelstane
  • Beaver
  • Beecher
  • Dunbar
  • Goodman
  • Grover
  • Lake
  • Middle Inlet
  • Niagara
  • Pembine
  • Peshtigo
  • Porterfield
  • Pound
  • Silver Cliff
  • Stephenson
  • Wagner
  • Wausaukee

Villages

  • Coleman
  • Crivitz
  • Pound
  • Wausaukee

Cities

  • Marinette
  • Niagara
  • Peshtigo

Neighboring Counties

Dickinson County, Michigan  • Florence  • Forest  • Menominee County, Michigan  • Oconto

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

Church History and Records

Lutheran
  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Marinette County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records 

Circuit Court Case Files from 1879-1939 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Circuit Court Look-Up Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property 

Tax rolls from 1879-1982 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship 

Declarations of Intention and Naturalizations from 1823-1907 are held at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Request form available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Newspapers

Peshtigo Times

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

University of Wisconsin Digital Collections Digital collections include:

County Courthouse

1926 Hall Ave.
Marinette, WI 54143-1717

County Clerk

Family History Centers

Societies

  • Searchable Museum catalog of the society's main collections, including quarrying, lumbering, and railroad artifacts; pioneer photos; veterans exhibit; and archival items such as old school records.

Amberg History Society

Marinette County Historical Society\ Marinette County Historical Society & Marinette County Logging Museum
P.O. Box 262
Marinette, WI 54143
(715) 732-0831

Publishes a quarterly newsletter, The Historian, which includes original articles of interest to the Marinette County area, photographs, maps, book reviews, and other items of local and regional interest.

Wisconsin Historical Society Search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index, on-line index of 2.5 million birth, marriage and death records.  See other collections and search strategy resources available on the Wisconsin Historical Society Genealogy page.  This organization's web site was named one of the top 101 genealogy websites in 2010.

Taxation

Vital Records

Pre-1907 birth, marriage, and death registrations are held on microfilm at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Request forms available at: http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/
 

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 758 Marinnette County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 7,434 times.